PDA

View Full Version : connect PC speakers to car radio? weired!



acura2005
03-22-2005, 11:53 PM
Hi !
i have a weired question. Is it possible to connect desktop pc speakers to car radio? or is it totally impossible while playing the car speakers? i would like to know if its possible in any ways.

JimJ
03-22-2005, 11:58 PM
You mean you have a deck that you've taken out of the car and are running at home? Sure, it's possible...hook the preamp outputs from the deck into what would be the soundcard input on the PC speakers. You'll probably need a 1/8" to stereo RCA splitter...Radioshack sells them.

JAZN
03-23-2005, 12:05 AM
ive actually seen it done b4.

HeatSeeker
03-23-2005, 06:55 AM
I think he may be talking about putting pc speakers in his car? No idea if that would work though.

squeak9798
03-23-2005, 10:52 AM
As long as the impedences work and the PC speakers aren't "powered" speakers, then yeah......it would work. Not sure why you would want to, but it should work

Nikuk
03-23-2005, 11:15 AM
what he said

JimJ
03-23-2005, 01:00 PM
and the PC speakers aren't "powered" speakers, then yeah

Well, that's why I had him wire it from the preamp outputs, I figured they were...now, if he wants to run them off the speaker wiring, that's a whole different thing.

But why would you want to do that anyway?

formlua5150
03-23-2005, 06:38 PM
I once put four speakers from a really crappy bookshelf system in my car all wired to some boss speakers up front off of a sony deck. It was my first car and my subs had just got stolen. If you have patients, you can do anything. No matter how stupid it may seem. (cuz what i did sounded terrible.)

JAZN
03-23-2005, 07:40 PM
If you have patients, you can do anything.
patients are what doctors have. the word u were looking for is patience ;)

theCybe
03-23-2005, 10:44 PM
Absolutely not. The technology of your PC speakers is entirely different from that which you may find incorporated into regular speakers -

It'll never work, no matter what you do.

Your headunit doesn't have enough RAMHz.

JimJ
03-23-2005, 10:47 PM
My headunit doesn't have enough RAMHz :(

;)

formlua5150
03-24-2005, 06:37 AM
patients are what doctors have. the word u were looking for is patience ;)
spelled it right tho :D