PDA

View Full Version : Powering system in house using the wall outlet



Basshead808
03-21-2005, 12:57 AM
Hey, Whats up you guys. I was just wondering how you guys are powering your home system (Car HU, Amp). Example = Since a wall outlet power is like a battery in a car then what type of plug do you use to give the power to the system?

JimJ
03-21-2005, 01:03 AM
You need a 12VDC power supply to run 12VDC electronics in-home.

Such as this: http://www.astroncorp.com/

Basshead808
03-21-2005, 01:18 AM
okie :D. sorry, last question.. does an amplifier in a house needs to be fused like the way you install an amplifer in a car or dont need?

req
03-21-2005, 01:25 AM
if you dont ahve the money to get one of those. check WWW.r3q.NET and go to the PROJECT LOGS -> "CAR AUDIO GOES HOME" section.

but you will only be able to get ABOUT 15 amps of power, and YES, you should fuse it to whatever YOUR powersupply can provide.

netherland24
03-21-2005, 01:26 AM
i got a power regulator about 15 years old and still works wonders for me

req
03-21-2005, 01:27 AM
if ya got one of them. then go for it.

but 99% of people dont. and a PC powersupply is WAY cheaper than any of that crap.

Basshead808
03-21-2005, 01:28 AM
:veryexci: Okay, thanks you guys. you all have been great help to me

JimJ
03-21-2005, 01:30 AM
When you figure in the cost of getting enough real current to drive 12VDC amplifiers, you might as well go the plate amp route.

Whookid
03-21-2005, 01:34 AM
Reminds me of my friends cousin who cut the power chord off of a lamp, plugged it into the amp and then the wall. Then he wondered why his amp wouldnt work.

Haha. :rolleyes:

JimJ
03-21-2005, 01:38 AM
That'll do it :)

Basshead808
03-22-2005, 03:25 PM
:laugh: Yeah, I was thinking on getting a 12volt plug from radio shack and strip the wires off instead. would that work. or would it be dumb?

JimJ
03-22-2005, 03:45 PM
If you want to blow up your amps, that would work.

Otherwise, you need a power supply.

req
03-22-2005, 04:05 PM
wow.

:rolleyes:

what an idiot. he broke the lamp :laugh:

PV Audio
03-22-2005, 05:42 PM
wow.

:rolleyes:

what an idiot. he broke the lamp :laugh:
lamp cord>monster cable


true story, its good 16 or so awg wire.

Basshead808
03-22-2005, 06:35 PM
alright, thanks for the input guys

JimJ
03-22-2005, 07:10 PM
true story, its good 16 or so awg wire.

for speaker wiring, maybe ;)

PV Audio
03-22-2005, 07:37 PM
for speaker wiring, maybe ;)
yah thats what i meant

Basshead808
03-23-2005, 04:03 AM
Yeah, I might try this in the feature. I am going to purchase a PC Power supply :D and make it look like this = http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.batts/ps/powersupply.htm

Basshead808
10-02-2005, 06:00 PM
What happened to this site?= WWW.r3q.NET can someone tell me a tuturial on how to power a amplifier to a PC Power Supply?

lostsoul
10-02-2005, 06:09 PM
yeah site dosent work

Basshead808
10-02-2005, 06:54 PM
Yay I figured out how to turn on a pc power supply! :D (Green wire connected to ground wire)

Hook Me Up
10-02-2005, 07:13 PM
CHyea! i just found about 1000 feet of speaker wire today - yea i know speaker wire isnt that much but its nice, now i can redue my speakers in my room!

Basshead808
10-02-2005, 07:16 PM
coolio

Basshead808
10-02-2005, 07:49 PM
Crap my PC Power Supply just turned off I need a 10 ohm Load Resistor now.. Time to go shopping at radio shack again:rolleyes:

azbass
10-02-2005, 07:54 PM
iv always used a plate amp. plug in to wall, and your set, can do 1000 at 4 ohm, depending on what you get. power supplies are for shop show rooms.

Basshead808
10-02-2005, 08:45 PM
Oh I see. Well sorry for the old thread bump folks. And this question has been answered numerous times.:emb: