PDA

View Full Version : Active or passive setup? help



gundecker
03-20-2005, 06:26 PM
I was wondering...can I buy a set of Image Dynamics 5 1/4" CXS comps and use the mini horns instead of the tweeters? Will the passive X-overs be compatible? Or will I have to go active?

Berry47
03-20-2005, 09:30 PM
It most likely depends on the crossover points of the crossover and how that corresponds to the frequency range of the horns.

elduderino
03-20-2005, 09:46 PM
I would go active simply because the horns are so much more efficient than the cone drivers, with passives you just can't get the output levels right without making custom networks and a lot of tiral and error...

gundecker
03-20-2005, 09:50 PM
Do you guys think running everything off a JL Audio 300/4 will be sufficient?

elduderino
03-21-2005, 12:32 AM
Everything, or the mids on 1/2 and the horns on 1/2?

If you already own it it's worth trying, but I would lean towards a 450 and more juice to the mids. I run a 300/4 in one car and like the amp a lot, but I would put less power to the horns than I do to the mids, optimally.

ANeonRider
03-21-2005, 12:39 AM
You won't need anymore than 35W to the horns. Unless you want to be unable to sit in your ride.

squeak9798
03-21-2005, 10:34 AM
You won't need anymore than 35W to the horns. Unless you want to be unable to sit in your ride.


:up2somet:





Doubtful the passives would work with the horns, and as mentioned....active would be a better choice anyways (for level matching and such).

Which horns are we talkin' about? CD1's? CD2's?