PDA

View Full Version : Port Area Check



jmiller0526
03-20-2005, 04:44 PM
real quick question....do you think a 2x28.5 slot port is adequate for 2 older visonik 15"s.....will it be a problem being so thin?

jmiller0526
03-20-2005, 04:49 PM
Also is it ok to use the side of the box as a wall for the port....the box is 30" x36" x 17 " and the port was going to be using one of the walls of the box for the wall for the port...this ok?....
sorry thats really confusing....

Acidburn
03-20-2005, 04:54 PM
Also is it ok to use the side of the box as a wall for the port....the box is 30" x36" x 17 " and the port was going to be using one of the walls of the box for the wall for the port...this ok?....
sorry thats really confusing....

yes, its ok

and with that thin of a port, you MAY get port noise

ngsm13
03-20-2005, 05:11 PM
yes, its ok

and with that thin of a port, you MAY get port noise

Yup, if at all possible...it's good to keep a port around a 1:4 to1:6 ratio. I'd try tp do 3" wide AT LEAST...and adjust accoirdingly for port length, displacement, NET volume ETC...

NG

Acidburn
03-20-2005, 05:13 PM
generally, the rule is dont go smaller than a 9:1 ratio, but it's just one of those guidelines