PDA

View Full Version : help!!! premier 860 wire harness has no REM!?!?!?



g30ffr3y
03-19-2005, 12:52 PM
just the power antenna blue wire...

what do i do for the REM wire then???

thanks...

TrlcKed_OuT
03-19-2005, 01:29 PM
u can always just hook it to ur brake.....or a switch brake is better tho...

JAZN
03-19-2005, 01:47 PM
it should be a blue and white wire, and if u bought it new it should have a tag on it that says REM on it.

g30ffr3y
03-19-2005, 02:01 PM
it should be a blue and white wire, and if u bought it new it should have a tag on it that says REM on it.


i just took it out of the package... seriously... there is a blue and
white power antenna wire with a little tag that says "system remote
control"

well the manual says that its the power antenna wire... do i just
tap another lead off it???

the alpine had 2 actual blue wires...

JAZN
03-19-2005, 02:04 PM
do u have a power antenna on ur car?

g30ffr3y
03-19-2005, 02:08 PM
i dont have an antenna that goes up and down...
i just have that shark fin XM antenna gizmo on the
roof...

i know youre going to tell me that i should plug the
rem wire into that and disregard the power antenna
wire from the honda harness... but i want to connect
it since its part of the honda harness... i dont wanna
screw up hondas super secret antenna system or
anything...

grrr... this is so stupid... if i tap the wire will it be able
to turn on the amp? the manual has it at a 300mA maximum...

JAZN
03-19-2005, 02:08 PM
alrite i reread the installation manual and it says "to system control terminal of the power amp or auto-antenna relay control terminal" so i guess u connect both both of em to the blue wire. just try it without the antenna wire first and see what happens.

g30ffr3y
03-19-2005, 02:09 PM
alrite i reread the installation manual and it says "to system control terminal of the power amp or auto-antenna relay control terminal" so i guess u connect both both of em to the blue wire.


i saw that too... for such an expensive deck you would think
they wouldnt screw you on a lousy blue wire lead...

JAZN
03-19-2005, 02:11 PM
well more and more cars today are losing the motorized antenna. but yea, i see ur point.

g30ffr3y
03-19-2005, 02:13 PM
thanks man... i just dont want to blow anything up...

just 5 and a half more hours til i can do this...

JAZN
03-19-2005, 02:18 PM
seeing as how ur using xm anyways, u probably have no need for the power antenna (if there even is one). on my old rsx, i could never find the antenna so i didnt even bother. i like when car companies are stealth like that and hide the antenna, altho i rarely listen to the radio. hows that xm treatin u?

Trancer
03-19-2005, 02:22 PM
The remote wire and power antenna wire is the same thing... It serves both purposes. It turns on when the key in in the ACC or ON position.

g30ffr3y
03-19-2005, 02:26 PM
the XM was pretty cool... i signed up for 3 months as 5.99 a month
after the original 3 month trial from honda was over...

but about a month into my second quarter i decided to change
the HU so now ive cancelled the XM...

their rate is insane now... like 12.99 or something a month...

its a good service... but im more excited about the pioneer
ipod adapter for my new HU... i really only listened to the
80s 90s and techno dance stations...


how did you guys splice the wire? the premier manual has it
pictured with a bunch quick connects in a chain...

JAZN
03-19-2005, 02:28 PM
for our HU's, can we control an ipod from the HU or do we have to mess with the actual ipod while we're driving? thats the whole thing im worried about. if the pioneers cant control it, i might have to splurge for an alpine 9855.

JAZN
03-19-2005, 02:29 PM
how did you guys splice the wire? the premier manual has it
pictured with a bunch quick connects in a chain...
i would just rip the quick connects off, and use a twist cap for all three wires, and wrap it up with some electrical tape. (dunno if thats good installation practice, maybe someone will yell at me :crap: )

jellyfish420
03-19-2005, 02:30 PM
how did you guys splice the wire? the premier manual has it
pictured with a bunch quick connects in a chain...
when i did mine i didn't have any of the spade connectors...
so i just cut, spliced, soldered, and taped, like all the other wires:)

g30ffr3y
03-19-2005, 02:31 PM
thanks there jellyfish... good to see another 860[0]
owner come to the rescue... im really excited about
this deck...
_________________________________________________

there is a pioneer ipod adaptor just like the alpine one...

i guess the alpine one is UTTER AND COMPLETE GARBAGE
if you have more than 512 artists or something... the AiNet bus
isnt fast enough to keep up with the ipod or some such thing...

i havent come across anyone crucifying the pioneer one
so ill probably order from crutchfield once i get the deck
set up...

its 119.99 and crutchfield will have them at the end of march...

you can contol from the deck and all the titles and stuff is
supposed to show up...

jellyfish420
03-19-2005, 02:31 PM
i would just rip the quick connects off, and use a twist cap for all three wires, and wrap it up with some electrical tape. (dunno if thats good installation practice, maybe someone will yell at me :crap: )
:furious: :furious: j/k

but no i don't think your supposed to use the caps in the car. besides, alot of those and you'll start to take up alot of room:(

g30ffr3y
03-19-2005, 02:33 PM
the alpine manual actually RECOMMENDED the quick caps...

i agree they look like they will take up too much room if
you use them for all the wires... but just for this REM
situation it should work great...

JAZN
03-19-2005, 02:38 PM
did quick caps on one install b4, twas a b*tch cuz they did take up a lotta room. :p:
i usually use butt connectors, dont have the energy for soldering altho thatd be better.

squeak9798
03-19-2005, 02:44 PM
The remote wire and power antenna wire is the same thing... It serves both purposes. It turns on when the key in in the ACC or ON position.

Just be careful with that......it isn't the same on all decks. On some decks the Power Antenna lead only has power when the deck has the radio as the source. Switch to CD, and the antenna lead drops it's power (which means your amps would shut off when playing a CD).

6spdcoupe
03-19-2005, 07:36 PM
On Pioneer HUs the antenna and remote wire are the same. It will stay on provided the radio is on, regadless of source. For the people with the actual motorized antenna it does **** due to the fact that the antenna is Always up even on CD. Yes Pioneer could have improved this by now.

Also for the cars that dont have a motorized antenna, the power antenna lead is typically still used as the antenna is still 'powered'. Most newer cars with the glass mount antenna do need power to work correctly.

--Don

Acidburn
03-19-2005, 07:38 PM
On Pioneer HUs the antenna and remote wire are the same. It will stay on provided the radio is on, regadless of source. For the people with the actual motorized antenna it does **** due to the fact that the antenna is Always up even on CD. Yes Pioneer could have improved this by now.

i concur
i wish mine didnt stay up all the time but oh well

Trancer
03-20-2005, 01:08 AM
Just be careful with that......it isn't the same on all decks. On some decks the Power Antenna lead only has power when the deck has the radio as the source. Switch to CD, and the antenna lead drops it's power (which means your amps would shut off when playing a CD).

Thats why I was replying about the Pioneer deck :D

jellyfish420
03-20-2005, 02:01 AM
thanks there jellyfish... good to see another 860[0]
owner come to the rescue... im really excited about
this deck...
when installed mine there was a blue/white wire. it had a spade connector on it, and a little tag that said remote. i even went and looked it my installation manual, and there is not even a mention of a solid blue ant. wire, only the remote wire:(

6spdcoupe
03-20-2005, 02:19 AM
i concur
i wish mine didnt stay up all the time but oh well


Could always throw a switch on it....

BTW..it usually takes me a minute or so to respond after I see your post, cant help watching your sig ;)

Acidburn
03-20-2005, 02:24 AM
Could always throw a switch on it....

BTW..it usually takes me a minute or so to respond after I see your post, cant help watching your sig ;)

eh, i'd forget or something, not worth the effort

haha i know, its so mesmerizing

jellyfish420
03-20-2005, 02:30 AM
haha i know, its so mesmerizing
i watch, and watch, and watch...
thinking "one of these times shes actually gonna lift her shirt up":laugh:

JAZN
03-20-2005, 02:50 AM
im used to the disappointment. i wouldnt be surprised if she showed u guys boobs, and showed me a weiner or something.

squeak9798
03-20-2005, 12:26 PM
Thats why I was replying about the Pioneer deck :D


I know, I just didn't want someone to read it and think that all decks were like that :)