PDA

View Full Version : Headunit + EQ?????



skeptikal
03-17-2005, 04:38 PM
Ok this has kind of had me boggled for a few weeks now. I am upgrading my H/U to possibly an Eclipse 5423 or Alpine CDA-9847. and I was wondering, how would i hook the eq to the headunit? I mean do i need to use all three RCA outputs on the Eclipse or both of them on the Alpine? Or can I just do 1 set of RCA's to the EQ then take them from the EQ to the external amps?

lol not sure if that made a whole lot of sense but i can explain better if you need more info.

DFW40
03-17-2005, 04:46 PM
Depends on how many inputs and outputs the EQ has and what amps you want to "EQ".

skeptikal
03-17-2005, 04:52 PM
Ok The equalizer has outputs for (front, rears, and subwoofer)... and I'll only be amping the subwoofer and component amp...

DFW40
03-17-2005, 04:57 PM
just go from the HU to the EQ with your RCA's whether it is dash or trunk mounted and run the RCA's into the corresponding input jacks on the EQ and then out the corresponding jacks to the amps. It will be in the middle of the HU/Amps, you have to buy double the RCA jacks though.

skeptikal
03-17-2005, 05:14 PM
thanks!

forbidden
03-17-2005, 07:44 PM
What makes you think that you NEED the eq, try going from the head to the amp first.