PDA

View Full Version : Heres a couple pics of my box



btnhfan
03-16-2005, 08:20 PM
It will be finished over the next day or so. I have to build the rest of it in the trunk. About 7 cubes before disp, 4.5 net. 120 sq in, tuned to 45hz. We are looking to hit 150 and hopefully more with this one. The MT will be getting around 5000w.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/2glocks11523/P1010153.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/2glocks11523/P1010152.jpg

2kchevy06civic
03-16-2005, 08:23 PM
that looks cool. 5000 watts for an MT. good lord...hahahaha

Good luck with your goals :thumbsup:

Buckshot
03-16-2005, 08:27 PM
Ill have a slightly used pair of ears of an born in 90' died of heart attack, if you want them 400 shipped.. any takers?

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 08:28 PM
Its for competing only. It will be around 2000w daily.

bcarpenterfhl
03-16-2005, 09:04 PM
how do you drill when you're building in your car?

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 09:27 PM
Maybe a few, but mainly all wood glue. I put soo much on its insanely hard. The cuts were exact too, using a table saw and circular saw and a guide. The glue should work perfect. It creates a chemical bond too, better than liquid nails.

jtomsic
03-16-2005, 09:30 PM
nice price tag.

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 09:34 PM
It adds 3 db

Nikuk
03-16-2005, 09:39 PM
Are you going to be burping with the engine on?

nikosbuddy
03-16-2005, 09:42 PM
hey buddy, is wood glue like really good? and stable?, i wouldnt mind using it on my box for my 15" im getting....
Mike

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 09:43 PM
Man the wood glue is really stable. Ill take a pic of the coat I put on before I put the back on and show you


Yea the engine rpms will be at 2000ish, not anymore. Maybe. Gotta do some testing to see if it matters.

Randy Savage
03-16-2005, 09:44 PM
What amps?

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 09:45 PM
DD m1's
2 for now

4 later, or 4 vfl 150.1s

Pilgrims
03-16-2005, 09:46 PM
box looks slick i like it so far...what brand of wood glue? id like to know

Randy Savage
03-16-2005, 09:46 PM
What about the 200.1's? :)

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 09:48 PM
After talking with my team and such, the extra 1000w or so isnt worth it for the price, and I dont have a bottomless wallet. Im already getting 2 kinetic 2400s

InhumanAcura
03-16-2005, 09:50 PM
looks good man :) I dont want to down on your design, but you might want to stay away from bending the port in the future.

Randy Savage
03-16-2005, 09:50 PM
Last I was told Bob said the 200.1 was essentially 2 150's....but I think I heard someone say they changed up something....what are you getting the 150's for?

Nikuk
03-16-2005, 10:05 PM
looks good man :) I dont want to down on your design, but you might want to stay away from bending the port in the future.


I was thinking the same thing. Gonna limit him quite a bit. At least, it has in my tests. :cool:

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 10:20 PM
Ahh. Well its only the first box. Test this one out.
Thanks for the tip though.

Too much. Im basically getting them at dealer price.

bcarpenterfhl
03-16-2005, 10:22 PM
looks good man :) I dont want to down on your design, but you might want to stay away from bending the port in the future.

i'm not disagreeing, but why? L slots seem pretty typical. i know it creates a shift in port width (thus increasing port area and altering the desired frequency), but why else?

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 10:24 PM
Ill most likely go to aeroports for the next one. Hopefully that will help out.

Nikuk
03-16-2005, 10:32 PM
i'm not disagreeing, but why? L slots seem pretty typical. i know it creates a shift in port width (thus increasing port area and altering the desired frequency), but why else?

You want to acheive port linearity.... bend do not do that. It's fine for musical boxes.... but when you are chasing tenths, it matters.

-Nick

InhumanAcura
03-16-2005, 10:35 PM
^beat me

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 10:36 PM
Well Im going to make every corner round, and hopefully it will help raise my tuning freq a little bit as well.

bcarpenterfhl
03-16-2005, 10:36 PM
if its just for competition use? why dont you have your port extend to the outside of the box?

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 10:39 PM
Its almost hitting a piece of metal. There like 3 inches of clearance now.

THUNDERBIRD
03-16-2005, 10:41 PM
coming from a construction background wood glue isnt gonna hold. ur going to blow it open and get leaks. the reason for screws is that the screws draw the joint tight and keep it tight. even mdf will have a slight bow or crook in it and glue will not completely fill that void. and if it is going to be used for compition i strongly suggest useing screws too

btnhfan
03-16-2005, 10:43 PM
Okay thanks. Ill add a few in.

Randy Savage
03-16-2005, 11:03 PM
coming from a construction background wood glue isnt gonna hold. ur going to blow it open and get leaks. the reason for screws is that the screws draw the joint tight and keep it tight. even mdf will have a slight bow or crook in it and glue will not completely fill that void. and if it is going to be used for compition i strongly suggest useing screws too


If you use the right glue, the wood will break apart before the bond does ;)

yz_gt69
03-16-2005, 11:04 PM
In my box I used dowels and wood glue the whole way around. Then backed it up with a few screws. It's deadly...

Randy Savage
03-16-2005, 11:06 PM
I used gorilla glue on all seams and connections, and then covered up with liquid nails througout the whole box. Stong as hell :)

InhumanAcura
03-16-2005, 11:22 PM
coming from a construction background wood glue isnt gonna hold. ur going to blow it open and get leaks. the reason for screws is that the screws draw the joint tight and keep it tight. even mdf will have a slight bow or crook in it and glue will not completely fill that void. and if it is going to be used for compition i strongly suggest useing screws too

lol

smullen
03-16-2005, 11:23 PM
Nice, I wanna see that Big *** Sub in it!!!!

bcarpenterfhl
03-16-2005, 11:38 PM
have you thought about reinforcing with fiberglass? i don't see any bracing. 5kw is a whole lot for 3/4 inch MDF. a guy who posted here with two MT 15s doubled up on 3/4 inch MDF>

req
03-16-2005, 11:46 PM
yea, if it were me, and i knew the box was killer, id prolly just lay one or two layers of glass on the seams. i mean, why the hell not :)

Untouchable11
03-16-2005, 11:49 PM
may I ask what type of car this is goin into?

Ti22
03-17-2005, 03:30 AM
from the pics it looks like a honda civic

iamamp3pimp
03-17-2005, 11:05 AM
you can really build a box without using screws???


thats crazy. ill stick to liq nails, or gorilla glue and lots and lots of screws

smullen
03-17-2005, 11:09 AM
you can really build a box without using screws???


thats crazy. ill stick to liq nails, or gorilla glue and lots and lots of screws
Not unless you use some serious clamps to hold the wood while the glue dries...

But I would not try it with anyhting over 1000 Watts...

We built a box for 2 12" Kicker Comp C-4-4s a long time ago and then wanted to build another box like 3 months later, so we stole the scews outta the 1st one... We later sold that box to getmoney for more MDF and the guy was tottaly happy with it....

Also, I've used my nail gun (vs. Screws)to build a few boxes... I do prefer Screws... Habit I guess..

80INCHES
03-17-2005, 11:18 AM
btnhfan being that your in brookfield ct.....and i'm in westchester.......can i swing thru and get a listen......your a 30min drive from me i believe

80

btnhfan
03-17-2005, 11:41 AM
Yea sure man not a problem. Hopfully my sub will be here tomorrow.

Im going to try it first without bracing, to get a baseline number. Then all of the playing around and doing all sorts of stuff comes Saturday.

And the glue is holding it insanely well. I hit it hard and its not even leaning.

btnhfan
03-17-2005, 11:45 AM
And its in a honda civic ex 99 coupe

Wood glue holds a better bond than liquid nails, because it is a chemical bond rather than a surface bond like liquid nails is.

80INCHES
03-17-2005, 11:48 AM
sounds good 2 me

80

Nikuk
03-17-2005, 11:53 AM
If you use the right glue, the wood will break apart before the bond does ;)

:word:

Abso-friggin-lutely.