PDA

View Full Version : What to look for in a HU (Noob)

Bloodhound34
03-14-2005, 07:30 PM
I haven't been studying very much. I haven't researched at all really, since this is really the first place I've been. I'm a total noob to this kinda stuff because I don't have my liscense. It interests me though. I'm getting my liscense in a few weeks, and the stock system on my 98 Camaro is god awful. I'm looking at getting a new HU. I know Alpine is a good company, but what are some other ones? What should you look at when buying a head unit? I definately plan to get a CD changer, Subs, Amp, andCrossover if needed(Not exactly sure what it's for.)

Thanks for future help.
-Bloodhound

Nikuk
03-15-2005, 08:31 AM
You should really spend a couple of hours reading this place: www.bcae1.com , It'll learn you alot about the hobby & science. Making it more enjoyable for you.

Eclipse
Pioneer Premier
Alpine
Panasonic

IMO, Best decks out right now.

Do you want to get into each ones features?

-Nick

3.5Max6spd
03-15-2005, 09:34 AM
*high signal to noise ratio/strong preouts
*look at models w/ at least 3 preouts
* strong processing(dac's) and dsp features of choice
* ergonomics

Nikuk
03-15-2005, 10:16 AM
Low output impedance ;)

tRiGgEr
03-15-2005, 10:17 AM
Kenwood don't forget about them.

TimberJon
03-15-2005, 03:21 PM
Brands:
Alpine
Clarion
Eclipse
Kenwood
Sony
And others mentioned above.

Features to look for![U]
Built-in Equalizer (EQ) with more than 3 bands.
RMS? You want 20 watts RMS x4 minimum. Pay no attention to MAX power x4.
These are often times overrated. RMS = continuous power flow, essentially..

Auxillary inputs? whether you will need them or not.
2 or more Pre-Outs ( for connecting HU to amplifiers)[3 is standard]
Pre-out Voltage. Standard is 4, Eclipse Heads pack 8. This is goood..
Removable Faceplate. Hard for the G's to tell if your HU is worth selling.
Does it play CD's packed with MP3s? Cannot play DVD movies or media.