PDA

View Full Version : Question about my Amps and powering the RE-RE Components?



smullen
03-14-2005, 02:53 PM
I have 2 Older, but perfect shape HiFonics Centurions..

I know they are like

100x2 @ 4 Ohms
and either 150x2 or 200x2@2Ohms...

The question is, should I put one (1) of these amps on each set of the RE Mids/tweets, or just one of the amps on both sets of mids which should make the amp see about 2 ohms?

Both (2) sets are going in the front doors of my 2nd gen Blazer...

Then I was going to use another of the Centurions to run the XXX 6.5s, wherever I put them...

c0la
03-14-2005, 03:16 PM
From what I've read the rms rating is 50. You'll probably just want to hook one set onto one amp to get the 100x2 @ 4 Ohms. Be moderate with the gains and should be good to go.

Correct me if I'm wrong

I've got a question for you though if you dont mind. Did your set come with surface mounts for the tweeters? Just purchased a set myself and was kinda curious.

Thanks

iamamp3pimp
03-14-2005, 03:17 PM
id use one amp and run it at 2 ohms

smullen
03-14-2005, 03:32 PM
From what I've read the rms rating is 50. You'll probably just want to hook one set onto one amp to get the 100x2 @ 4 Ohms. Be moderate with the gains and should be good to go.

Correct me if I'm wrong

I've got a question for you though if you dont mind. Did your set come with surface mounts for the tweeters? Just purchased a set myself and was kinda curious.

Thanks

YOu have to drill like a 3/4 or 1" hole for them to fit in, but the grillpart of the tweeter is on the surface...

Here is a pic... (BIG PIC)

http://impressivexpressions.com/Members/Scotts/RE-Components/RE-RE-Components-02.jpg

Tonight, I can take them out and post a side shot of them if ya need...

c0la
03-14-2005, 03:40 PM
Thanks for the pic/info. I have to find some place to flush mount them now. :crying: My car does not have room to flush mount except in the door panel and that isnt happening. :crap:

smullen
03-14-2005, 04:08 PM
Thanks for the pic/info. I have to find some place to flush mount them now. :crying: My car does not have room to flush mount except in the door panel and that isnt happening. :crap:

ahh Stop bein a baby and break out the tools... http://impressivexpressions.com/Members/Scotts/Smileys/sawsall.gifand http://impressivexpressions.com/Members/Scotts/Smileys/welder.gif


hahahahttp://impressivexpressions.com/Members/Scotts/Smileys/2jk.gif I hear ya... I don't really wanna cut mine either, but at this point; I think its too late...

c0la
03-14-2005, 04:28 PM
I've got maybe a week to figure something out. If nothing figured out by then definitely time to start some cutting unfortunately.

Have you had a chance to listen to your RE tweets? Hearing a lot of mixed reviews on them being to "harsh" and others saying they are awesome.

smullen
03-16-2005, 10:45 AM
I've got maybe a week to figure something out. If nothing figured out by then definitely time to start some cutting unfortunately.

Have you had a chance to listen to your RE tweets? Hearing a lot of mixed reviews on them being to "harsh" and others saying they are awesome.

Nah, not yet...