PDA

View Full Version : retarded math question.



g30ffr3y
03-07-2005, 03:09 PM
how do you figure out square inches of port area?

i thought area was ^3 not ^2

specifically what is the port area of 14.5 x 1.5 x 27

thanks.

saywhat?
03-07-2005, 03:11 PM
dont u just multiply that together???? (587.25 sq inches)

squeak9798
03-07-2005, 03:12 PM
Volume is cubic, area is squared. Take H x W for area, H x W x L for volume.

ndnbolla
03-07-2005, 03:13 PM
area= ???^2
multiplying 2 numbers (w x h)= area

volume=???^3

multiplying 3 numbers (l x w x h)= volume

your port case would be volume.



aww man u guys beat me to it...

g30ffr3y
03-07-2005, 03:16 PM
so why do they always say square inches of port?

if i need port volume?



well whatever it is... how much port area do i have? someone said
it wasnt enough in my box building thread...

__________________________________________________ ____________

hold the flames... i see that ive got 21.75^2 of port... i guess thats a little small?

squeak9798
03-07-2005, 03:19 PM
Two different things. You need to know port volume simply to know how much airspace the port is displacing within the box. The port area can have a direct effect on performance....too little or too much can be a bad thing.

monte_carlo97
03-07-2005, 03:21 PM
hold the flames... i see that ive got 21.75^2 of port... i guess thats a little small?
yea that is a little small. to put things in perspective i got 104 inches^2

g30ffr3y
03-07-2005, 03:23 PM
yea that is a little small. to put things in perspective i got 104 inches^2


but youre running 2 15"s with 2600 watts... that i can understand a lot
of port area for...

im going to be running a 15A with maybe 800-961 watts... ive never had
port noise even with a small round port with any of my setups...


so lets hope...

monte_carlo97
03-07-2005, 03:25 PM
but youre running 2 15"s with 2600 watts... that i can understand a lot
of port area for...

im going to be running a 15A with maybe 800-961 watts... ive never had
port noise even with a small round port with any of my setups...


so lets hope...
I am running a total of 6000 watts. 3000 per sub.

But i would say that the are you have is fine. What is you r box volume.

squeak9798
03-07-2005, 03:31 PM
I am running a total of 6000 watts. 3000 per sub.


You have an electrical system capable of handling a current draw of (at best) 520A?? That's assuming amplifier efficiency of 75% and a constant 14.4V on the electrical system.

monte_carlo97
03-07-2005, 03:33 PM
You have an electrical system capable of handling a current draw of (at best) 520A?? That's assuming amplifier efficiency of 75% and a constant 14.4V on the electrical system.
Not always. I got a 200 amp alt, yellow top, and red top. i want to go with dual alts soon. so if anyone can weld me some brackets let me knowa.

Nikuk
03-07-2005, 03:55 PM
squeak, that assumes that he is running 0dB tones at full tilt constantly.

Sheesh... when did you become an alt salesman? :p:

squeak9798
03-07-2005, 04:06 PM
squeak, that assumes that he is running 0dB tones at full tilt constantly.

Sheesh... when did you become an alt salesman? :p:


Sorry, it's just one of those things, a pet peeve I guess; Nobody that I know of has the electrical system to run a true 6000w in a DD.....typically that's just what their amps are rated but they aren't actually pushing anywhere near that amount :D (yet they don't mention that part)


I could run a 10kw amp in my car. But if I have it setup to put out no more than 2kw, or an electrical system that can't support 10kw worth of output, I shouldn't go around claiming to run 10kw.....just doesn't make sense.

g30ffr3y
03-07-2005, 04:08 PM
the box dimensions are

16 x 25.5 x 17

with the port in question taking up some
space and the driver once its in...

bbp6 says i get about 2.2^3 net...


holy crap monte... thats a sh1tload of power... are you deaf?


assuming bbp6 and my building skills are at least close...

what do you set a SSF for for a 31hz tuning???

Nikuk
03-07-2005, 04:15 PM
Sorry, it's just one of those things, a pet peeve I guess; Nobody that I know of has the electrical system to run a true 6000w in a DD.....typically that's just what their amps are rated but they aren't actually pushing anywhere near that amount :D (yet they don't mention that part)


I could run a 10kw amp in my car. But if I have it setup to put out no more than 2kw, or an electrical system that can't support 10kw worth of output, I shouldn't go around claiming to run 10kw.....just doesn't make sense.

No, I do understand. I'd agree.

It's just one of those things.

g30ffr3y
03-07-2005, 04:54 PM
SSF setting with a 31hz tuning?

anyone?

squeak9798
03-07-2005, 04:56 PM
~23hz....

g30ffr3y
03-07-2005, 04:59 PM
i figured it would be pretty low...

i just want to be careful with my new subby...

monte_carlo97
03-07-2005, 06:53 PM
Sorry, it's just one of those things, a pet peeve I guess; Nobody that I know of has the electrical system to run a true 6000w in a DD.....typically that's just what their amps are rated but they aren't actually pushing anywhere near that amount :D (yet they don't mention that part)


I could run a 10kw amp in my car. But if I have it setup to put out no more than 2kw, or an electrical system that can't support 10kw worth of output, I shouldn't go around claiming to run 10kw.....just doesn't make sense.
your just a hater.
Don't hate the players. Hate the game.






When you coming up to skeps. Then i can show you what PA is all about.

nosaj070
03-07-2005, 07:01 PM
SSF setting with a 31hz tuning?

anyone?

In reality you will probably be fine without it. As long asyou make the box to the specs bbp came up with. Hardly any music really goes below around 28 hz.

squeak9798
03-07-2005, 07:41 PM
your just a hater.
Don't hate the players. Hate the game.






When you coming up to skeps. Then i can show you what PA is all about.

When are you coming up to skeps :up2somet:


I still have his false floor in my garage.....I keep forgetting about it :crap:

packerfan
03-07-2005, 07:49 PM
your just a hater.
Don't hate the players. Hate the game.






When you coming up to skeps. Then i can show you what PA is all about.

Actualy those amps do around 2000@1ohm@14v......:rolleyes:

monte_carlo97
03-07-2005, 11:32 PM
When are you coming up to skeps :up2somet:


I still have his false floor in my garage.....I keep forgetting about it :crap:
i don't think he is in any big hurry to get it back. I want to head up there sometime soon.

squeak9798
03-07-2005, 11:55 PM
LMK when (like, exact date and rough time), and I'll see if I can't make it down there.