PDA

View Full Version : Alpine 7894 w/ Ipod Question



Ryan328i
03-02-2005, 11:27 PM
I have an Alpine 7894 and have had it for the past two years almost. I love the headunit and would like to keep it. I recently purcahsed an Ipod and I'd look to hook it up in my car. Since the 7894 isn't one of the newest Alpine models I don't think that I have the Ai-Net feature. What do I need in order to hook it up and still maintain good sound? I've heard good things about products like the Dension Ice-Link which works with the stock headunit but I think I'm going to lose my good sound if I go that route because it improved a great deal once I got the Alpine HU.

ANeonRider
03-02-2005, 11:29 PM
It has the Ai-net (btw, Ai-net has been around for quite some time, I had it on my first Alpine deck 7 years ago), but I do not think it will interface correctly with the I-Pod. Just use the output from the I-Pod headphone/lin-out jack into the line-in on the back of the HU.

Ryan328i
03-02-2005, 11:38 PM
Is that what you do with the newer units? I just hear everyone talking about being able to interface the Ipod with the new '05 units. Will able be able to control it the same way, through the buttons on the headunit itself? Does it charge the Ipod while it's in use?

So what I would need to buy wouldn't be available from Ipod like their interface is? All I would use is a simple cord with a headphone jack at one end and RCA's at the other? It would then take the place of a CD Changer, etc?

ANeonRider
03-02-2005, 11:46 PM
Is that what you do with the newer units? I just hear everyone talking about being able to interface the Ipod with the new '05 units. Will able be able to control it the same way, through the buttons on the headunit itself? Does it charge the Ipod while it's in use?

So what I would need to buy wouldn't be available from Ipod like their interface is? All I would use is a simple cord with a headphone jack at one end and RCA's at the other? It would then take the place of a CD Changer, etc?

It is not how the interface works, but the interface only works with the new (2004+) upper level units. You will not be able to control the I-pod like the interface will allow. It does not charge the I-Pod. What you do is use a headphone jack to RCA cable, and plug it into the Input RCA's on the rear of the deck. It will not take the place of a CD Changer.

Randy Savage
03-02-2005, 11:49 PM
Really? ****, I should tell my interface to stop working with my 2001 Alpine radio!!!

ANeonRider
03-02-2005, 11:52 PM
Does it work? Ok, guess I learned something new. I thought they only interfaced with the new decks. :uhoh:

Ryan328i
03-02-2005, 11:52 PM
Really? ****, I should tell my interface to stop working with my 2001 Alpine radio!!!

What does that mean? You have the interface for the 2004+ models working on your 2001?

Ryan328i
03-02-2005, 11:53 PM
Does it work? Ok, guess I learned something new. I thought they only interfaced with the new decks. :uhoh:

Does the interface charge the Ipod? It seems like taking it out of the car all the time could become a hassle when I need to charge it every night.

ANeonRider
03-02-2005, 11:55 PM
lol, apparently I have no clue what I am talking about here, so I'll let someone else field that :p:

Ryan328i
03-03-2005, 12:18 AM
Is there like a number for Alpine North America? Maybe I can call and see what they say although I'm sure they'll try to convince me to buy one of the new units.

ANeonRider
03-03-2005, 12:19 AM
www.alpine-usa.com, and they don't pressure sales...

Randy Savage
03-03-2005, 12:20 AM
Does the 7894 have the quick search functions?

I've used the iPod interface on a few different Alpines, all of them have worked, but the newer models with the search functions make it easier to work with...

Ryan328i
03-03-2005, 12:32 AM
I don't belive it has the search functions. I was just reading on the Alpine site about how the interface works on the newer models. I can see how the search functions would make it easier but would it still work without them?

What units have you used them with? I have the 7894 which is an 02 or 03 model I believe. I have Media Expander but it doesn't say Ai-Net anywhere on it. What exactly is the Ai-net and what difference does it make?

Randy Savage
03-03-2005, 12:36 AM
I've used it on the 9831, 9815, and the 7998. The 7998 doesn't have the search, but it still works- displays titles, etc. Folders have to be changed at the iPod, though.

Ryan328i
03-03-2005, 12:43 AM
So basically you need to find the playlist that you want on the Ipod then you canswitch songs, etc from the HU? It still displays the titles too, right? I wouldn't mind that if all I had to do was find the playlist that I wanted to play. How does it hook up? I'm assuming you use the normal Ipod cord and run it to the box the from their you run RCA's form the box to the HU?

ANeonRider
03-03-2005, 12:47 AM
The 7894 has Ai-net, I have the exact same deck. Read your manual, alot of your questions about your features will be answered in it.

And, this is Alpine's page about the Ai-net I-Pod adapter:
http://www.alpine-usa.com/products/leading_technology/leading_tech_kca-420i.htm

Randy Savage
03-03-2005, 12:48 AM
So basically you need to find the playlist that you want on the Ipod then you canswitch songs, etc from the HU? It still displays the titles too, right? I wouldn't mind that if all I had to do was find the playlist that I wanted to play. How does it hook up? I'm assuming you use the normal Ipod cord and run it to the box the from their you run RCA's form the box to the HU?

Yes, once you pick a playlist on the iPod, you can change songs from the Alpine- you just can't change playlists. It will display the title and such as well.

the interface has one cord that goes to the ai-net connection on the radio to the interface, then from there another cord goes from the interface to the ipod.

hawk45
03-03-2005, 10:45 AM
Can you hook up the Ipod to the newer model Alpines w/o the Alpine Ipod adaptor and just use the Ipod to seach/select songs? I have CDM-7854

Ryan328i
03-03-2005, 01:55 PM
Thanks for the info guys, this is good news.

Randy Savage
03-03-2005, 02:12 PM
Can you hook up the Ipod to the newer model Alpines w/o the Alpine Ipod adaptor and just use the Ipod to seach/select songs? I have CDM-7854

Unfortunately with the 7854 you can't. With Alpines you have the option of going through either the M-bus plug and converting that to a phono/rca connection, or using the ai-net.


Ryan- if you are interested, I may get rid of my iPod interface- PM me for details.

Ryan328i
03-03-2005, 02:29 PM
Ryan- if you are interested, I may get rid of my iPod interface- PM me for details.

PM sent.

hawk45
03-03-2005, 03:47 PM
Unfortunately with the 7854 you can't. With Alpines you have the option of going through either the M-bus plug and converting that to a phono/rca connection, or using the ai-net.


Are their any adapters that will allow me to use Ipod with the 7854 then?? I already have one of the adapters that I plug into where you would hook-up your CD changer... one of these things..KCA-121B (http://www.crutchfield.com/S-dQMk2Wztmsx/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?s=0&cc=01&i=500KCA121B&o=&a=)and does not work.. so do I need an interface or am I S.O.L.?