PDA

View Full Version : PiX of Box/woofer/amp (no ****!)



BASS OUTLAW
02-24-2005, 07:35 AM
well this setup was in the KiA pride.. thought that i will get a new ride.. but unfortunatly no money.. now the car is on repair... :crying: ( a civic is needed)

sorry 4 the bad quality..

this my first Ported box
2cuft.3/4" MDF..tunned to 35hz..using PVC pipe.. diameter about 4"
and yes there is port noise. but sub is in trunk .. i dont hear rattle or port noise inside the cabin when windows/doors closed.



the sub is the Pioneer Ts-W121SPL
http://pics-19.hi5.com/userpics/219/223/22354219.img.jpg

http://pics-33.hi5.com/userpics/533/223/22354533.img.jpg

http://pics-32.hi5.com/userpics/532/223/22355532.img.jpg

http://pics-52.hi5.com/userpics/952/223/22354952.img.jpg

this AMP is the Pioneer PRS-X340 4 channel brigable amplifire.. i believe it put around 360 W RMS per channel .. feeding sub around 720 RMS if not slightly more...

BASS OUTLAW
02-24-2005, 07:49 AM
PS: i do not use the grill when sub installed in car .. due to huge excursion

req
02-24-2005, 09:10 AM
this AMP is the Pioneer PRS-X340 4 channel brigable amplifire.. i believe it put around 360 W RMS per channel .. feeding sub around 720 RMS if not slightly more...

thats just blatently not true. sorry to burst your bubble but;

http://www.elcity.dk/shop/default.asp?ProductID=166


14.4V (20-20kHz/4ohms) 4 x 37.5 (0.04%) Watt

14.4V (20-20kHz/2ohms) 4 x 75 (0.4%) Watt

14.4V (Bridged 4 ohms) 2 x 150 (0.4%) Watt

MAYBE 300w bridged@4 ohms with a stable electrical system on a GOOD day with volume at max - and thats if you put each pair of bridged channels to each voice coil. and that my good friend. is simply not good for the speaker. if it were anyone else in their right mind, they would use that amp for your REGULAR speakers, and get a REAL subwoofer amp that puts out more than150x2@4 my friend.

im powering my midbass door speakers with 300 watts. just for comparison.

BASS OUTLAW
02-24-2005, 09:20 AM
req thanx for info... i have the Birth sheet( but i have no scanner)... and it says that ...
any ways thanx for the info
... i know it not the best amp for a woofer.. but i literally dont have the money .. i was plannin to get a brutus and leave this one for the speakers...
but plans had been changed due to other more important expences.. car broken... etc

but thanks for the info ...
i can run that woofer with 300 W only n i can make it hit the X Max ;)

req
02-24-2005, 10:10 AM
well thats good and all, and i didnt mean to be offensive or anythin,

just had to wake up for work (woke up late) then the shower water was about 50 degrees F, and that ****** real bad. then i had to drive an hour drive in 45 minutes to get to work on time, and i went to bed at 2:30am and work up a 6:30.

just a ****** day so far.

as for the amp- you could most certainly get an amp that will push 600w or so to that sub and stay around $100

if that sub is SVC4, you can get ~600 from this amp

http://www.millionbuy.com/prfap1200.html

Bridged RMS Output Power (4 Ohms): 600W x 1

if its DVC, ill suggest somthing else. wanna tell me if the sub is DVC or SVC and what the coils resistance is?

cobra65427289
02-24-2005, 11:21 AM
you may be surprised.
http://gallery.caraudio.com/vg/4/8/9/6/prs-x320_birthsheet.jpg
thanks to jmac and his galleria full of birthsheets.

al

cobra65427289
02-24-2005, 11:24 AM
another
http://gallery.caraudio.com/vg/4/8/9/6/prs-x720_birthsheet.jpg
just to use as a reference.
these seem like they would be nice amps, only if meca hadn't changed though. :p:

al

req
02-24-2005, 11:45 AM
wait, wtf?

that other thing said it was a 4 channel amp.

lol :)

so your sub is SVC4 then? or DVC - if DVC - its still not a good idea to run each channel to each voice coil :p:

my bad, must have gotten the wrong amp then.

//edit

no mang, i was right - the X340 is a FOUR channel amp, theres no way he can run that amp (correctly) on that sub :uhoh:

BASS OUTLAW
02-24-2005, 04:19 PM
sub is TS-W121SPL PIONEER same as the Premier TS-W2000SPL DVC 4ohm each.
btw reg .. i didnt ur word as being offensive or anything :)

mmm. Cobra... i need to search for the birth sheet.. and manage a scanner to show u what my birth shet says ;) (that a long story)

req, am bridging thi amp from 4 channel to 2 channel.. and running each channel to a voice coil.
and i know its a bad idea... cause i need to set both of the gain equally :)
and use a Y-cable when connecting the RCA's..

req. why r u sayin no way ?
Prove it please. ;)

BASS OUTLAW
02-24-2005, 05:01 PM
Req am waitin 4 u man :)

req
02-24-2005, 05:13 PM
Req am waitin 4 u man :)

sorry - im at work.

there was a thread about it eairler today, basically both channels arent going to be exactally the same (no matter what) and if one channel hits before the other, the timing is wrong, and one will pull while the other pushes, ect ect.. and the sub will not be happy.

if it was in stereo - thats different, when you bridge the channels you connect them, but since each pair is in a seperate circut (there are TWO SPERATE VOICE COILS, they are not connected, just mounted in the same spot on the sub)

so they wont be the same volume\level\gain\ect - understand? :uhoh:

BASS OUTLAW
02-24-2005, 06:16 PM
i got what u mean man..but i need a proof...
if u used a single RCA wire from the HU.. and at the end of it split it to two uing a Y-cable.. now it the same signal... then match the gain using a DMM ( thanks supa c)
what else?