PDA

View Full Version : box for 2 re 12" help please



plyhammer
02-08-2005, 12:55 PM
Yes I have searched and yes I looked on re's website. I currently have a box that is appox. 3.5 cu sealed. I would like to use the same box for my two Re 12"s. They are 175 rms and 250 max per sub and will be running at 4ohm with 350 true watts for the pair. I believe my box is way big to be run sealed but can I circle port it for them? What to do? Also, If you think porting it is the way to go how many, how wide, and what length of pvc to use. Thank you very much.

req
02-08-2005, 01:21 PM
say each driver is .1 cubes for ease (prolly give or take a little in reality)

so we got 3.3 cubes now. lets figure the port will be ~.5 cubes just for shits and giggles.

3.25 cubes net.

get some 4" PVC, and make it 9~10" long and it should tune it to about 30hz. as for the volume of the enclosures. RE's site says 182L - but that seems quite wrong to me. because 182 liters = 6.42726934 cubic feet... and thats not right.

the RE RE12's take ~250w RMS. so you wont have problems with them if ya port em.

i say throw a 9 or 10" port in the box, and see how it sounds. try to get the port symetrical to the speakers if ya can.

plyhammer
02-08-2005, 01:25 PM
thank you Req. I knew you would help me. These are downfiring into the floor in the back of my quadcabtruck (if my science class doesn't blow the subs before I get them). I think I will have to port forward and downfire. Now If I built a box betweenthe front seats with a third sub, would there be too much cancelation? hmmmm.

plyhammer
02-09-2005, 10:04 AM
anone else?