PDA

View Full Version : Can a set of RE RE6.5's take 130rms



Dimensions
01-30-2005, 07:13 AM
Like the title says. I have had a set of these components before and am thinking of getting another set. However I have changed amps since then and will be running an eclipse 33230 amp on my mids and highs. The amp is rated at 130x2watts rms @4ohms. I have heard that these comps can handle more than their rated power but I am not sure since I will be pushing almost 3 times the rms ratings. The two choices in components are these or a set of Orion P6.2's. The Orions are really appealing right now because of the 100watts rms 150watts peak power rating. I know that if I watch the gains the RE's would work but how long at this amount of power, I dunno. What do you guys think?? I had a JBL 180.2 on my old set.

UndercoverPunk
01-30-2005, 07:19 AM
Why not get some comps that are rated to handle what you're throwing at them so they actually sound good?

I'm sure you could do it, and they'd prolly take it, but the crossovers are set for less power than that, you may run into so EXTREMELY harsh highs.

Of course I could be completely wrong.

ryan570
01-30-2005, 02:34 PM
what is the rms rating on the re components? Also if i dont by an amp right away will they still work okay on my pioneer 3600 HU?

Dimensions
01-30-2005, 03:08 PM
50watts rms and yes they will work just fine off or a HU but I would get an amp on em. Thanks for the advice undercover.

tRiGgEr
01-30-2005, 03:14 PM
Just have the gains down on the amp. It will be fine.