PDA

View Full Version : 6.5" Coaxials

kronik
01-28-2005, 09:25 PM
Hey guys.. Couple questions.

1. I have a 1999 Camry XLE. It has stock components; tweeters are mounted in the corner of the window. Question.. how difficult do you think it would be to remove those and mount new ones? I've never done any audio installs but I will be starting relatively soon. I had lined up - Alpine 9836, Infinity Kappa Perfect 6.1, 2 RE 12" XXX, MTX 1501d modded by Scottie J, and no amp for the speakers.. as of yet (I will be getting one, eventually, as well as some 6x9's most likely.)

2. Do you think it's better with my setup to go with coax or components, as well as ease of install / utilizing the crossover. I do a lot of reading so while I am a novice, I'm a sponge right now and I don't want to invest in noobie gear if I'm going to be unsatisfied in 3 months.

3. Any suggestions on coax or components, around the price range of the Kappas, that may be better?

Thanks in advance.

Raven
01-28-2005, 10:31 PM
Well, my first point of advice to a sponge, since you're gonna listen, is to take out the stock components, and put them back in. Do this more than once. You'll figure out what size tweeter you can work with, and how easy / hard it will be to replace. Also, I was so convinced that my Taurus took 6.5" speakers, every site in the world said they took 6.5s. I pulled out the Sony 6.5" I had replaced stock with, sure enough, they were both 5.25" speakers, and I had to fashion new mounts with high carbon steel and plasma cutter. Took hours of work to do.

A lot of people have given me bad vibes about the Infinity comps. Generally I hear they lack midbass, and don't handle power quite like a good comp set could. In fact, rumor has it the surround is so brittle it can break.