PDA

View Full Version : Which HUs will allow for DVD play while driving?



MetalMaxima
01-26-2005, 03:14 PM
Are there any units that are even capable of this nowadays? It seems as though all the units out there can only play DVDs iff the engine is not running. I am looking for a unit that will allow for me to play DVDs while I am driving.

Expy2000
01-26-2005, 03:19 PM
I know there is a mod for the Kenwood Touchscreen to play while you are driving



I think that only applies to the new HU's tho...

jtomsic
01-26-2005, 03:20 PM
u can disable it on all of them i believe by just disconnecting one wire.

deadboi77
01-26-2005, 03:30 PM
some just got to ground a wire or 2 now like the alpine units..i got these 2 switches..one i have to hold in while flipping the other

MetalMaxima
01-26-2005, 05:47 PM
How about this one? Does anyone know if a wire can be snipped/changed to play DVDs on the road? The AVIC-N2

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-K1FzXun0bF2/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?g=168550&I=130AVICN2

ttsquared100
01-26-2005, 10:07 PM
no all of the DVD indashs have a security feature where you ground it to your ebrake so that the ebrake has to be engaged inorder for the video source to work...i just installed my pioneer instead of grounding it to the ebrake ground it to any part of the chasis its easier to install then grounding it to the ebrake...and you will be able to watch music videos or whatever

MetalMaxima
01-27-2005, 05:41 AM
No *****. So all that simply has to be done is ground the video wire to the chassis and I will be able to drive and watch a dvd?

LIGHTBEING
01-27-2005, 08:21 AM
no all of the DVD indashs have a security feature where you ground it to your ebrake so that the ebrake has to be engaged inorder for the video source to work...i just installed my pioneer instead of grounding it to the ebrake ground it to any part of the chasis its easier to install then grounding it to the ebrake...and you will be able to watch music videos or whatever

exactly

MetalMaxima
01-27-2005, 08:35 AM
Wow, F-ing sweet! Loooks like I will be saving up for my Eclipse AVN2454 afterall!!!!! :p:

ieatdrt
06-30-2005, 08:49 AM
You cannot disable the AVIC-N2. It knows when you're moving. The gyro and GPS system won't allow it. You'd get a message stating the E brake wire is connected improperly becuase you're moving with the brake on.

IRACEMYCOPCAR
06-30-2005, 09:09 AM
You cannot disable the AVIC-N2. It knows when you're moving. The gyro and GPS system won't allow it. You'd get a message stating the E brake wire is connected improperly becuase you're moving with the brake on.

What he said, the AVIC-N2 is the only one i know of that cannot be bypassed (unless you run video through the rearview camera input;) )

the AVIC-N1 is almost the same unit but it can easily be bypassed by grounding the emergency brake wire(not reccomended) you may still be able to find one that some store hasnt sold yet, or get a used one.

almost all are able to be bypassed like the AVIC-N1 except for alpine which requires switches to toggle power and ground.

( I DO NOT condone or reccomend watching ANYTHING except the road while driving)

3.5Max6spd
06-30-2005, 09:53 AM
old thread

noob with an RS
06-30-2005, 09:31 PM
i hope you get confused with which is the road and which is the screen and stare at the screen thinking OMG i'm about to hit a naked woman!!! full throttle!!!!!!

Justinw303
07-02-2005, 02:58 AM
Passengers, perhaps?