PDA

View Full Version : new headunit (preamp output)



civic2004
01-22-2005, 11:10 PM
im thinking about getting one of the new alpine or eclipse headunits but was curious of 1 thing. does it matter what the preamp output is, is one better then the other? i have seen 2V and a 4V for the alpines i like. and the eclipse is preamp output of 8 volts.

iceteebone
01-22-2005, 11:15 PM
im thinking about getting one of the new alpine or eclipse headunits but was curious of 1 thing. does it matter what the preamp output is, is one better then the other? i have seen 2V and a 4V for the alpines i like. and the eclipse is preamp output of 8 volts.


it depends. people seem to overrate preout voltage. basically the higher the preout voltage the lower you have to turn up the gains on your amp. the less gain you need the less likely there would be a chance of getting noise problems. if you get no noise with a 2 volt headunit, getting an 8 volt headunit is not gonna do anything else for you.

johnecon2001
01-23-2005, 12:00 AM
yeah it will, over all volume will be increased. More signal going into the amp equals more sound. the amp isnt going to limit the volume.

civic2004
01-23-2005, 12:32 AM
so would you recommend the 2 or the 8 volt?

johnecon2001
01-23-2005, 01:36 AM
the 8v

Zombietime
01-23-2005, 02:38 AM
The least i'd go with is 4 though exceptions do exist. I think 8 is a bit excessive but quality is quality and you take what you can afford.

jellyfish420
01-23-2005, 02:54 AM
i got 2.7V on my eclipse and it sounds great!
i'd still go for the 8V but hey...whatever you can get, its better than a LOC:)

ighettoboyi
01-23-2005, 01:58 PM
a lot of amps don't even go up to 8v, i've had a couple that only go to 6 so you'd have to adjust your subs i guess to lower the output to match the speaks. i personally see no use for anything more than 5 unless you have ultra sensitive zapco amps or some *****

johnecon2001
01-23-2005, 02:50 PM
my amps are only ratev at a four volt input but theyre taking the 16v from the eclipse just fine. I know a bunch of other arc owners who do the same thing.