PDA

View Full Version : 4x2ohm stereo load...can't see it



clint_col
01-21-2005, 10:11 PM
Phoenix Gold 8.0:4(stable at 2ohms stereo)
75 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms stereo
125 watts RMS x 4 at 2 ohms stereo
250 watts RMS x 2 at 4 ohms bridged

Can anyone tell explain to me or draw a picture on how I would go about connecting all 4 of my speakers up at 2ohms stereo using my 4 channel amp. I know a little about how ohms work in seiries and parrell but I cannot see how to do this. Any adice or help would be very helpful

P.S. I already have them all connected at 4 ohms and I was also wondering if there are any advantages or disadvantages in going to 2 ohms? Thanks

jaw041383
01-21-2005, 10:18 PM
well, u will only use two channels on ur amp (if u have single 4's). wich ever 2 is up to u. if u have dual 4's just put each sub on its own channel @ 2ohms.

squeak9798
01-21-2005, 11:33 PM
If each of your speakers are 4ohm, and you want to use one speaker on each channel, then you can not get a 2ohm load per channel because the speakers are 4ohm and there is no way to change that. The only way to get a 2ohm load would be to wire two of the speakers together in parallel on each channel and only use two channels.....but that'd be a total waste since then they'd actually be getting less power than running one on each channel.

clint_col
01-22-2005, 11:42 AM
ok thanks