PDA

View Full Version : bypassing for the Pioneer In-Dash...so i can watch while i drive



ttsquared100
01-19-2005, 02:03 PM
my pioneer 6400cd will be here this afternoon...how or where do i ground the wire to so that i can play the movie while im driving...also where do you guys install your dvd players if there isnt much room under the seat...

Bigrick31
01-19-2005, 02:07 PM
glove box or in the dash

IgnoreMe
01-19-2005, 02:07 PM
i would help you if i knew the answer but i dont. BUt ill post anyways... why would you post "watch while i drive" in the title unless you WANT to be flamed?

ttsquared100
01-19-2005, 02:16 PM
ok you kno what i mean its for the passengers clearly...i have a suv and i always have a boat load of people in my car...

req
01-19-2005, 03:37 PM
just ground it to.... ah, wait!

A GROUND :)

a ground = any point of metal attached to the chassis, in wich is connected to the engine block, and that my friend, is connected to your negative battery terminal. or at least i hope it is. becaus if its not. your car wont work :D

just find the wire that the unit uses to ground the circut via the break (shouldnt be hard) and just ground it.

it should be the one that is fishy. a weird connection that dosnt really make sense why it has to be there (should be a long black wire connecting to somthing that has to do with the parking break, but it may be a different color).

good luck. ive never done this :)

but i think thats how it works.

ttsquared100
01-19-2005, 04:51 PM
yea i guess ill play around with it...but the ground to the parking brake allows the tv to go into safety mode...when you are driving...but from reading some things i think i figured out how to do it...thanks

1972chevelle
01-19-2005, 09:40 PM
im was thinkn about trying to hook a ps2 up instead of a dvd player and see if it would work that way not sure though just a thought

swaptrex
01-19-2005, 09:42 PM
ok you kno what i mean its for the passengers clearly...i have a suv and i always have a boat load of people in my car...
surrrrrre.......

deadboi77
01-19-2005, 10:51 PM
i have a D300*i didnt install it*but for me to watch dvds and what not the installer put these 2 lil switches 1 i have to hold in while i flip the other..kind of a pain but thats why i just throw the switches before i leave haha

btnhfan
01-19-2005, 11:01 PM
Check my project page to see where Im putting mine. Called interior buildup. Ground the parking brake wire anywhere. I grounded mine to a bolt that held the shift knob bracket. It works fine.

slick rick
01-20-2005, 03:36 AM
ground the green wire labeled "parking brake" on it. and then watch vcds and screw all the people who ***** about driving and watching when listening to loud music is just as bad while driving. :)

Redford
01-20-2005, 06:01 AM
i have a D300*i didnt install it*but for me to watch dvds and what not the installer put these 2 lil switches 1 i have to hold in while i flip the other..kind of a pain but thats why i just throw the switches before i leave haha

That's because it's an Alpine. As far as I know, all other brands just need to be grounded. Alpine uses 2 wires, which are supposed to goto the ebrake and the regular brake and as you said there's some kind of sequence that you have to do. Bypass boxes were made for display purposes in stores but they're no longer being produced and are very hard to find.

ttsquared100
01-20-2005, 02:21 PM
yea i got it there was a bolt right inside my dash that was attached to the chasis but i have power problems now...gettin a yellow top today

Jt321
01-20-2005, 11:03 PM
deadboi77, i also have the d300 but with only 1 toggle switch. How i install it was the wire that needs to go to the brake goes to the brake, and the one that goes to the ebrake goes to the toggle. So what i do is, press brake, flip switch, release brake. Viola. Its better then flipping 2 switches :)

ttsquared100
01-21-2005, 07:15 PM
i just put it in...got a really small dvd player threw it under the seat with a 300w inverter new car battery...everything works perfectyl... with the action movies the gunfire sounds real...music videos are awesome...to bypass it all you do it find any big piece of metal behind the dash... and there is an easier way than the switch to ground the alpine...my buddy was explaining how he did his...but i wasnt paying attention...