PDA

View Full Version : Port Interference With Light?



bcarpenterfhl
01-06-2005, 02:25 AM
would it be bad if i put this in a port thats about 1.5 wide? will it substantially affect the tuning and sound? i'm about to put together a new set up in my girl's VW bug (the newer model). incase you car, heres whats going in her car:

1 MTX 8000 10"
Profile CL600 450 RMS
Ported Enclosure: 1 ft. ^3 tuned to 33.7 Hz, any of you think i should go slightly bigger?
That neon stick, hopefully in the port. i was going to spray the port whitish silver, and thought it would look cool with the blacklight.

supa_c
01-06-2005, 02:28 AM
Id use a cathode light.
There alot smaller and cost about the same

bcarpenterfhl
01-06-2005, 02:31 AM
too late..i bought it. do you think it will matter?

bcarpenterfhl
01-06-2005, 02:48 AM
ne1?

Nikuk
01-06-2005, 09:49 AM
Cold Cathode's generally have more output as well.

bcarpenterfhl
01-06-2005, 10:17 AM
cool. like i said though, i already bought the tube. can someone answer my question?

Nikuk
01-06-2005, 10:21 AM
About interference with the port functions?

Yes, it will. Anything in the port will be bad.

Catastrophic? No, prolly not in this case.

req
01-06-2005, 10:23 AM
i think it will make tons of port noise, your best bet would bet to get a piece of real thin plexiglass, cut a rectangle in the top of the port, cover the bottom (inside the port) with the plexi, and cover the top of the hole with carpet so the light is "inside" the wall of the box.

if you cant do that, get these UV LED's from www.lsdiodes.com - id suggest drilling a tiny hole and hot-gluing these to the inside\rear of the portwall corner - 4 of them wired together for 12v should do quite nicely.

but i wouldnt put a huge bulky neon tube in my port. no. id also tune lower.

Damaso87
01-06-2005, 11:32 AM
if you cant do that, get these UV LED's from www.lsdiodes.com - id suggest drilling a tiny hole and hot-gluing these to the inside\rear of the portwall corner - 4 of them wired together for 12v should do quite nicely.


Hay...that was my idea...

bcarpenterfhl
01-09-2005, 07:36 PM
ok i looked at crutchfield.com, and they have a very lenient return policy. they even pay for shipping to return it! now heres the questions, which cold cathode should i get, and how do i make it so it turns on from the remote start cord?

Damaso87
01-09-2005, 07:42 PM
You connect it to it.

bcarpenterfhl
01-09-2005, 07:50 PM
can i put the negative output into the ground input on my amp? or do i need to ground it seperately?

Damaso87
01-09-2005, 08:27 PM
Negative to ground is a-ok. I think you may have to put 4 diodes onto one positive though.

bcarpenterfhl
01-09-2005, 08:29 PM
huh? why 4? this is what i plan on buying incase it helps:
http://www.crazypc.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=PV1-8242

Damaso87
01-09-2005, 08:42 PM
Oops, sorry, cathodes...thought you said LEDs, in that case i have no idea.

supa_c
01-09-2005, 10:31 PM
can i put the negative output into the ground input on my amp? or do i need to ground it seperately?Amp ground is fine.
You might be able to hook the 12V+ to teh remote lead. That way the light turns on when the amp is on :D

bcarpenterfhl
01-09-2005, 11:11 PM
that was the plan. can anyone suggest a cheap online place for cold cathodes? (a lot of places rip you off on shipping.

supa_c
01-10-2005, 12:38 AM
www.ebay.com (http://www.ebay.com)
I got mine locally for $20
But i can return them ;)

bcarpenterfhl
01-10-2005, 12:52 AM
f**k it ill keep what i have, the box is for my girlfriend, not me. she couldnt tell port noise anyway. what do you guys think of this set up for her and her VW bug?

Damaso87
01-10-2005, 03:09 PM
I say you buy some small LEDs, put them in the port, wire them to the remote lead and youre done.

bcarpenterfhl
01-11-2005, 01:46 AM
can you suggest a certain type and list the site to get them? and tell me how many i should use and how to wire them? i'm looking for blue, pink, or blacklight.

supa_c
01-11-2005, 02:59 AM
Go to auto zone, get the 3 pack

bcarpenterfhl
01-11-2005, 03:09 AM
this one?
http://www.autozone.com/servlet/UiBroker?UseCase=C001&UserAction=performMoreDetail&Parameters=TRUE%7C%7ELED+Lighting%7C%7ENONE%7C%7EH ella+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++Lamp+3+Led+Ambe r+Round+Black+Bezel+12Volt%7C%7ENONE%7C%7EFALSE%7C %7EFALSE%7C%7E341344%7C%7E3307%7C%7E96268B%7C%7ENO NE%7C%7E%2416.99%7C%7ENONE%7C%7ENONE%7C%7ENONE%7C% 7ENONE%7C%7E0.05%7C%7ENONE%7C%7EV%7C%7EHLA%7C%7Etr ue

and the output would be good?
why not the four pack?

supa_c
01-11-2005, 03:10 AM
Yep.
4Vx3= 12V
3Vx4= 12V
Doesnt matter which ones you get but they do some in different voltages