PDA

View Full Version : Round ports w/ port noise or slotted vent?

pacho
01-04-2005, 10:27 AM
I'm constructing a box for a Treo 18" SSX sub. The box is 5 cubic feet and being tuned to 35 Hz with 50 in^2 of port area. I was wondering if I use 10 round ports (3" Diameter by 5" length), will I have a lot of port noise and will the sub sound bad b/c i've never used round ports before. Or do you recommend I use a slotted port?? Thanks.

iceteebone
01-04-2005, 10:42 AM
well i'm not a box expert but i hear round ports have more of a tendency to create port noise and with a slot port box you would have more port area.

pacho
01-04-2005, 11:00 AM
Is there any way I could solve the port noise problem by using aeroports?? I could use 4 aeroports but then I have to have some more port area, maybe add one 2" Diameter X 4" Length round port w/ the aerports?

iceteebone
01-04-2005, 11:03 AM
i heard that the bigger the diameter the less chance of port noise. also i hear putting sound deadener on the port reduces port noise.

pacho
01-04-2005, 12:49 PM
I heard once that there's a way to round the edges of the port or something which will reduce port noise, is there any truth to this?

iceteebone
01-04-2005, 12:52 PM
I heard once that there's a way to round the edges of the port or something which will reduce port noise, is there any truth to this?

that's what i heard on slot ports when they make a bend inside the box.

hoss
01-04-2005, 12:59 PM
slot ports and round ports work exactly the same way. the only difference between the two is the shape. if you have the same port area figured, you have just as much likelyhood for port noise in each case. i myself would prefer the slot port just because of the fact that it is slightly easier to design and build. as for port noise though, that is totally dependent on the port area, and not the port type.