PDA

View Full Version : Ipod with headunit



Bing
01-02-2005, 11:14 PM
Right now I have an older premier...I love the head unit but I need soemthing I can run my ipod through. I think I am going to need an aux input, and if this is the case can someone point me in the direction of a good headunit thats around 250. Or if there is some other way to run my ipod through my head unit let me know...

jtomsic
01-02-2005, 11:15 PM
some of the newer alpines have the feature that u can control ur Ipod with it.. might want to check them out.

Randy Savage
01-02-2005, 11:26 PM
The higher end 2003 models and most of the 04 models are compatable with the Alpine iPod interface (costs $100). I just ordered mine the other day from Crutchfield- it lets you control your iPod directly from the radio.

Bing
01-02-2005, 11:30 PM
You think ipods would be ok with subs? I know some people who tried putting harddrives in their cars but the vibrations totally ****ed them up.

jtomsic
01-02-2005, 11:30 PM
ipods are meant to be carried around and what now... i would think it would be fine.

Bing
01-02-2005, 11:36 PM
Right on...I wouldn't be too worried about the interface. I would much rather just plug and play. I might check out the Alpines.

Randy Savage
01-02-2005, 11:45 PM
I'd suggest heading over to www.elitecaraudio.com and doing a search on ipods...I know several people there are using the iPod and the iPod interface with their Alpine's and a few did reviews as well...

I should have mine in late next week...I'll try and do a review of it.

liar2
01-02-2005, 11:53 PM
I should have my unit tomorrow. If it doesn't rain tomorrow, I'll try and get it installed. Then maybe I'll get aruond to doing a review of it.

95RAM
01-03-2005, 01:20 AM
which brands of head units can you hook up ipods to. I was thinking of getting one for my car to get rid of all the cd's

Randy Savage
01-03-2005, 01:26 AM
You can hook it up to any h/u, that's not a problem. If you want compatability, the Alpine's with Ai-net are the way to go.

95RAM
01-03-2005, 01:39 AM
You can hook it up to any h/u, that's not a problem. If you want compatability, the Alpine's with Ai-net are the way to go.


alright i get it. You can hook it up to any head unit, but if you get an alpine then the headunit can control it instead of using the ipods controls.

Randy Savage
01-03-2005, 01:41 AM
alright i get it. You can hook it up to any head unit, but if you get an alpine then the headunit can control it instead of using the ipods controls.

Booyah.


On h/u's that have an aux rca connection you can use that, others you'll have to use the fm modulator...

Mark_ab
01-03-2005, 02:51 AM
Or CD Changer Bus cable adapter. Foo

Bing
01-17-2005, 09:46 PM
Sorry old topic...but how would one go about connecting it using the "bus" (this is usually yellow correct?) wire. I love me old premier and would love to be able to hook my ipod up to it. I"ve tried fm transmitters, they are horrible. I just need some new ideas.

nosaj070
01-17-2005, 09:48 PM
They don't make an aux input for that model?
Call crutchfield

Bing
01-17-2005, 09:55 PM
double post

Bing
01-17-2005, 09:55 PM
Well...mine doesn't have an AUX input. I"m just seeing what my options are before I blow money on a new head unit.





Does anybody know if the DEH-P6400's come with aux inputs? BEcause I can get a good deal on one.

ttsquared100
01-18-2005, 12:03 PM
you dont have the aux input like in there normally you have to go through settings and program it so that it adds a aux input...thats what i did for my alpine