PDA

View Full Version : headunit operating with facial in diff location can this be done?



robbie_turner
12-29-2004, 09:32 PM
Dunno if this has been done but I was wondering if there is a way 2 operate my head unit with my facial in a different location 2 my main device. Perhaps there is a converter out there all ready. For ur info I have a Sony headunit. I have made a small diagram 2 help u try and understand what im trying 2 do

cheers

Acidburn
12-29-2004, 09:46 PM
yes it is possible
ribbon cable + **** good soldering skills = necesary

robbie_turner
12-29-2004, 09:56 PM
its a bit of a risk then as i have not soldered anything since i was at school and that was many year ago. will the ribbon cable hold enough power for the display and how long do u think this cable can be?

Logikalliquid
12-30-2004, 12:35 AM
I've heard of someone mounting their deck down by their seat and the face in their overhead console. Thas seems like as long as you could possibly need.

Rawr-DQ
12-30-2004, 01:36 AM
I think a few feet of ribbon cable doesn't have enough resitance to keep the face from powering properly.

Edit: do you think its possible to wire in some kind of relay?