PDA

View Full Version : first box attempt.

RogerWilco
12-26-2004, 11:36 PM
Just went to home depot and bought 3 pieces of 4x8 3/4 mdf. First off i was in a hurry because they closed in 20 mins, secondly it was 0 degrees out but... I didnt bother to see if they'd fit in my vehicle :) It was an adventure getting them home... But it happened!

Anyways i need to build a box, i've never built a sealed before let alone a ported.. but i've gotten the idea that a sealed would make my sub sound like garbage. Its a audiobahn 15" (800 rms). One question i've had for awhile, this is probaly i really simple question but.. how do you tune your ports?

So is there anything inparticular i need to watchout for when im building a ported box? If not i'll just follow a tutorial somewhere and hope all goes well!

Damaso87
12-26-2004, 11:56 PM
Quite the contrary, the sealed will make the sub sound more accurate...in a way. Oh, and, i dont know how much worse of a sound than garbage you could get with that sub...
To calculate tha port tuning, you have to incorporate the volume of the box to the volume and stuff, i dont know how to do it, i pay JMac to do it...but theres a tutorial stickied.

http://www.caraudio.com/vb/showthread.php?t=68635

IgnoreMe
12-26-2004, 11:59 PM
you can try my tutorial in my sig but jmac will just say its wrong. been workin fine for me though, even if its wrong it aint wrong by much.

RogerWilco
12-27-2004, 01:55 AM
i wasnt refering to having the sub be accurate, but just sound "good" (not SQ but SPL) obviously the SQ isnt good on bahn subs, but the SPL isnt bad. And i've heard that sealed boxes are bad for bahn subs which makes sense. So i was going to give it a ported enclosure purely for SPL not SQ. I dont care if it lags slightly behind the beat, i realize the response is not going to be very tight. Thanks!

jellyfish420
12-27-2004, 02:01 AM
3 sheets of mdf huh? i've never used more than one before.

req
12-27-2004, 02:09 AM