PDA

View Full Version : Quick Question: Slot Area



bcarpenterfhl
12-16-2004, 12:53 AM
i'm building a box for a friend, and was wondering what the slot area should be for one RE SE 12. everyone tells me RE's site isnt accurate on dimensions.

Moe Lester
12-16-2004, 12:54 AM
id give it ~30 sq in

bcarpenterfhl
12-16-2004, 12:58 AM
isnt that huge?.....

Moe Lester
12-16-2004, 01:00 AM
if i was goin huge, id go 50+ sq in:D

when i had my SE i had it runnin w/ 24 sq in port, it was fine. I just like larger ports ;) each of my LIs sees 35 sq in, and almost 60 in the competition box

MisterE
12-16-2004, 01:07 AM
whats a good volume for this sub ported? should i go with the 1.8 listed on the website? and also (i ALWAYS forget this) is port and sub displacement figured into the 1.8 needed, or not.

sorry for jacking topic, just didnt wanna clutter up forum with ANOTHER dumb thread (and its hard to search for "RE SE" lol)

bcarpenterfhl
12-16-2004, 01:12 AM
no its totally cool. i was gonna ask the same question. when i used Bassbox Pro i plugged in 1.8 ft. ^ 3 for volume, and locked it. Then i gave the slot a Heigth of 12 in. and a Width of 3, and it said in order to obtain 32 Hz i needed a port length of over 50 in. is my program f**ked up?

Moe Lester
12-16-2004, 01:16 AM
1.8 cubes, 32hz, 12x3 port needs to be ~47-3/4"

bcarpenterfhl
12-16-2004, 01:22 AM
yup, and an off topic question, are F-bombs or anything else not allowed? i always see the "****"s

bcarpenterfhl
12-16-2004, 01:25 AM
oh yea could you recommend different port dimensions for a 1.8 cubed box and 32 Hz so the lenght isnt excessively long?

Moe Lester
12-16-2004, 01:27 AM
12x2.5 = 30 sq in
12x2 = 24 sq in

both would work, and id go with 2 cubes

bcarpenterfhl
12-16-2004, 01:40 AM
ok one more question, is it bad to have the sub directly infront of the port extension as shown in the following picture?:

http://img134.exs.cx/img134/6838/driverandportextension0lg.jpg

Acidburn
12-16-2004, 02:17 AM
ok one more question, is it bad to have the sub directly infront of the port extension as shown in the following picture?:

http://img134.exs.cx/img134/6838/driverandportextension0lg.jpg
thats fine
looks exactly how my box is