PDA

View Full Version : just a quick ? on bcae1 calc



Strecker25
12-05-2004, 01:56 PM
now when i get my dimensions and everything set up to the way i want it, if id like to use the already existing height (box is 17", 3/4 inch wood so port is 15.5" tall) can i just make the width of the port so that port area remains the same as it was originally and keep the length to what it says it should be?

Thuracine187
12-05-2004, 04:12 PM
You have to give more info on the box like what your what it tuned, volume, and the rest of the dimensions

jellyfish420
12-05-2004, 04:30 PM
now when i get my dimensions and everything set up to the way i want it, if id like to use the already existing height (box is 17", 3/4 inch wood so port is 15.5" tall) can i just make the width of the port so that port area remains the same as it was originally and keep the length to what it says it should be?
if i understand you correctly, once you make it shorter, then make the port wider you will greatly reduce the airspace in the box. you need to recalculate your port length with the new volume of the box after it is shortened. but just to make sure...more info on what your doing,please...

Strecker25
12-05-2004, 05:06 PM
well put it this way, if i change the width and height of the port, while keeping port area and port length unchanged, does this affect tuning?

ex: say i have a 3x5" port, 10 inches long . Can you change the dimensions to 15"x1" and leave the 10 inch length the same?

reed8857
12-05-2004, 05:11 PM
I a complet dummy but from what I have read it will change the tune...however I would not take just my word at this...

squeak9798
12-05-2004, 05:15 PM
All that matters is the cross-sectional area of the port. If that doesn't change (regardless on which dimensions are used), then the tuning won't change.

15sq.in. = 15sq.in.

Strecker25
12-05-2004, 05:18 PM
Thanks Squeak, exactly what i was looking for.

Thuracine187
12-05-2004, 05:18 PM
the pL would be the same only if the box volume is the same. if the volume is differt than you gonna have to change the port lenght

jellyfish420
12-06-2004, 01:52 AM
ya it'll be the same...i thought you were making the whole box shorter.