PDA

View Full Version : Box for four tens.



brandontw
12-02-2004, 10:44 PM
well i was going to get an 18" planet audio FU 18" but ditched that idea when i found out about this deal on MTX 8000's
http://www.mitekfactoryoutlet.com/products/product.cfm?PN=T8104

i bought 4 of them this morning, and now i need to build a box for all 4 of them, any ideas on the box, how big it should be, the port size? dual chamber or single?, i will wire them at 1 ohm and run them off my bx1500d MTX reccomended 1 cu. ft. per sub, with a 3"x20" port (not sure what this means... 3" round by 20" long?) so im thinking a slot port 2X9.4x20 for 2 subs(dual chamber box) ill draw up a pic and post it of my plan, any help would be appreciated.
i would like to get started on my box this weekend, so help would be nice

nikosbuddy
12-02-2004, 10:49 PM
hey bro let me know how those sound when ya get em i might have my freind buy some and well stuff them into the back of his blazer...thanks again for the deal on the hx2s im hoping this will get hella loud for you!, 4 10s wow...thats a nice chunka bass...i thougth about doing this at one time and using a box from ebay..but im gonna wait and im gonna try and build my own.... :crazy: i know im crazy....
Mike

brandontw
12-02-2004, 10:59 PM
ya im hoping ittl be better than those hx2's, just want to make sure to build the right box for em... ya know?

vosschs
12-02-2004, 11:03 PM
**** 37.00 each! my freind has 2 of em slam like no other for 2 tens

DBfan187
12-02-2004, 11:10 PM
**** 37.00 each! my freind has 2 of em slam like no other for 2 tens
There's also 10" 6000 series going for $25 each...I might have to get a couple.:thumbsup:

brandontw
12-02-2004, 11:12 PM
**** 37.00 each! my freind has 2 of em slam like no other for 2 tens

XXcelent :smokin: :peace: :up2somet: :up2somet: :up2somet:

brandontw
12-03-2004, 01:09 AM
i still need help, im trying to design my box in autocad, but i dont know how to make it a picture type file so you guys can see it, im thinking of making it a single chamber(ill put some bracing in) it will be about4.5 cubes then ill put a 3x6 20" long port in for all 4 subs. two subs will be on one panel(front) and the other two will be on the top panel facing up.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 01:26 AM
http://www.audiobahninc.com/frame2004.html

hmmm i just used the port calculator here and it said if my box is 4.3 cu/ft and i want it tuned to 32 and i want my port 10X 3 it should be 14.87 in. long is this right? it doesnt matter what subs your using, or how many?

if i still wanted it 6x3 it said it should only be 6 inches long, that seems a little short to me.
hmmm let me know if this is right or not.

TimberJon
12-03-2004, 11:03 AM
Yea Just pay JMac for the plans. He or I can help out with the techniques.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 03:45 PM
Yea Just pay JMac for the plans. He or I can help out with the techniques.
hmm i have the techniques down, and i think i have everything figured out, but the port tuning worries me

brandontw
12-03-2004, 03:53 PM
i have a nice plan in autocad, you guys know how i could show it to you?

InhumanAcura
12-03-2004, 04:09 PM
I know someone that got 8 12" 8000 series off ebay for cheap, hes got a vid on realmofexcursion. Says its a bit louder than a single DD 9515, lol.

TimberJon
12-03-2004, 04:14 PM
to get your picture type file, just get your cursor out of the way, and print screen. Then paste to MS paint, and save as. If you have a graphic editor, you can try to convert it to gif. Otherwise, it will just be a big fat bitmap.

I have CAD, you can email me the file so i can look at it if you want.
TW_TimberJon@yahoo.com

PSST. If you have it installed, you can print to PDF.
But i dunno if this forum allows PDF uploads.

TimberJon
12-03-2004, 04:19 PM
This might help out alot.
http://www.jlaudio.com/tutorials/ports/index.html

brandontw
12-03-2004, 04:49 PM
to get your picture type file, just get your cursor out of the way, and print screen. Then paste to MS paint, and save as. If you have a graphic editor, you can try to convert it to gif. Otherwise, it will just be a big fat bitmap.

I have CAD, you can email me the file so i can look at it if you want.
TW_TimberJon@yahoo.com

PSST. If you have it installed, you can print to PDF.
But i dunno if this forum allows PDF uploads.
cool, ill email it to you, i saved it out as a jpg, but it slurread all the dimensions, so ill email you the autocad file. sorry if its weird, i just started using it yesterday.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 04:56 PM
http://img54.exs.cx/img54/5581/45-MTX10boxmultiveiw.jpg

there it is, like i said, i got a little carried away

brandontw
12-03-2004, 04:57 PM
its a multiveiw projection, top, front, and right side veiws.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 05:45 PM
the dimension have changed" the box will be 15X20.5X35.5, that makes the box 5.04 cubes, then with the displacement of the port and the subs it will be 4.05, then i figure bracing will take up a little more, but not to much, so what do you think of this box then, any flaws?

Spkrman
12-03-2004, 05:55 PM
Use the side wall for the port... ports that just jut out in the middle of the box don't work nearly as well.

Also, bunch the subs together on the opposite side of the box.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 06:28 PM
really? what will this change?

brandontw
12-03-2004, 06:42 PM
http://img105.exs.cx/img105/8458/b4-otherbox.jpg

i just threw this together in 1 minute, is this what you were thinking? box is same size, but port is on side , and is now 13.5X2.5X16 inches

InhumanAcura
12-03-2004, 07:34 PM
^^Your going to have problems with cancelation like that...Put all the subs on top.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 07:48 PM
shyte! really? y didnt anybody tell me earlier? i dont think i can fit them all on the top

here is the refined version of that, in multiveiw projection form:

http://img75.exs.cx/img75/6623/a3-plan2mtx410s.jpg

InhumanAcura
12-03-2004, 07:55 PM
You can fit them, just stagger em. Is this for a SUV?, Im sorry Im to lazy to read.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 07:59 PM
so it will be a big problem if i put them on the different planes? ill check out putting them all on top, will it sound ok, or would rear facing be ideal?

brandontw
12-03-2004, 08:00 PM
You can fit them, just stagger em. Is this for a SUV?, Im sorry Im to lazy to read.
nope.... for a taurus

Spkrman
12-03-2004, 08:00 PM
You can do 2 on the front right corner and 2 on the top right bottom corner.

You could also do 2 firing forward and 2 firing to the right... or 2 right and 2 up... so long as you try to keep the subs in that corner, and keep the port entry in the opposite corner.

If you do all 4 subs on top, do the port across the bottom - which more than likely isn't feasable.

InhumanAcura
12-03-2004, 08:02 PM
so it will be a big problem if i put them on the different planes? ill check out putting them all on top, will it sound ok, or would rear facing be ideal?

Fire them all in the same direction, it doesnt have to be up...

Is this thing going to fit through the trunk opening?

brandontw
12-03-2004, 08:07 PM
well ill be... they will fit. so should i definately do it that way?

http://img81.exs.cx/img81/5246/04-plan3410s.jpg

brandontw
12-03-2004, 08:09 PM
i dont have room to face them any way but up


Fire them all in the same direction, it doesnt have to be up...

Is this thing going to fit through the trunk opening?
ium pretty sure it will ... you better believ ill triple check it though,

brandontw
12-03-2004, 08:10 PM
Isobaric ported ;)
you sly dog you.. your trying to get my to buy one of your designs still eh? im to committed now, and i have too much time
in this.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 08:14 PM
nah, i cant fit em on the front, cause they barely fit with just the 9.5in cutout hole

http://img97.exs.cx/img97/4474/8e-plan4410s.jpg

^^^ those are 9.5 dia. holes^^^^

brandontw
12-03-2004, 08:18 PM
then they would be firing into the back of my seat.. is that kosher?

brandontw
12-03-2004, 08:26 PM
nope thay wont fit on the side

these are 10" holes

http://img16.exs.cx/img16/7586/8d-plan5410s.jpg

brandontw
12-03-2004, 08:27 PM
so the best option i see is firing all 4 subs up(toward the deck) and then the port out into the trunk like it is

brandontw
12-03-2004, 08:34 PM
ya it wont work... so how does my port and box size look, the port would be 2.5X13.5X16, in a 4 cubes box... thats tuned to 32 Hz. unless im mistaken.... the box is 5 cubes before the displacement of the subs and port will this be cool you think?

brandontw
12-03-2004, 09:02 PM
bigger how? longer, same lenghth, but wider? what? please!! wut size should it be?

brandontw
12-03-2004, 09:11 PM
so should i make it 5X 13.5, then like 35 inches long? whats the difference? its the same tuning freq.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 10:03 PM
please

InhumanAcura
12-03-2004, 10:12 PM
He means more port area...Port area being (L x W) of the port opening... When you increase or decrease the port area the tuning will change and in compensating for tuning change you gain/loose volume.
Go to www.audiobahn.com and click on tech->calculators->port legnth calc.->fill in the blanks...Its not 100% accurate, but it does the job:)

brandontw
12-03-2004, 10:18 PM
so how much bigger should it be? th bigger the port area the longer the port has to be... right? so i can only hold so big of a port befor it take all of my space up.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 10:19 PM
an i have been using that calc. i just dont know what area to start with

InhumanAcura
12-03-2004, 10:21 PM
so how much bigger should it be? th bigger the port area the longer the port has to be... right? so i can only hold so big of a port befor it take all of my space up.

<shrugs shoulders>

brandontw
12-03-2004, 10:22 PM
Grrrrrr.

brandontw
12-03-2004, 11:18 PM
ok ive decided on my final plan and i will comence construction tomorrow. 54 sq inches of port(4x13.5) 20.3 inches long with all 4 subs on top. like so:
http://img73.exs.cx/img73/4241/09-Finalplan4mtx10s.jpg

i hope it will be good

Spkrman
12-04-2004, 09:18 AM
Your in a trunk - rule of thumb is tune the box about 5hz higher than you want... the acoustics of the trunk will take care of the rest.

I'd give it 80 sq inches of port, no L.

Depending on how the box fits in your trunk, it would work a little better.

brandontw
12-04-2004, 02:51 PM
i dont really have room for 80 inches, cause it would have to be a really long port, and i would be losing mondo airspace insode my box

brandontw
12-04-2004, 02:53 PM
oh, and im going for as much sQ as i can get, so tuning for 32 hz, will be about right for me i think

Spkrman
12-04-2004, 02:57 PM
I think you missed my point - tuning the box to 32hz will actually tune somewhat lower because your in a trunk... typicaly 3-10hz... the less airflow you have back to the front, the lower the trunk will tune your box.

brandontw
12-04-2004, 06:37 PM
yeah, and if im tunign for sq it should be 25-30 or so , so if its tuned to 30, then dropped 5 by the trunk, then that will put me at ~27hz, so that is about right.

i got your point, i might tune it up a little higher though

brandontw
12-05-2004, 11:46 PM
well, i didnt have the funds for the wood this weekend, so i will have to wait till payday to commence constructio, so any last minute tips would be great, should the port really be 80 inches, like skrman said, and if i cant make my box bigger, then how will the port taking that much of my airspace work out? cause it would have to be like 13.5X6!! to get 80 inches, and that would mean the port would have to be like 34 inches long for tuning at 35Hz

that would take up1.59 cubic feet, and my subs take up like .45, so that would make my box like 3 cubes after displacement, and that is too small i think., so what do you think?

DBfan187
12-06-2004, 12:49 AM
I think you should build your box inside your trunk. Fiberglass, ever use it?

theCybe
12-06-2004, 10:35 AM
I've been spying on this thread, because I also ordered 4 of those.

I've never used fiberglass; Where to start?

My box design is still up in the air. I'll post more on that, later tonight.

Which amp have you chosen for those 4, Brandon? Running stereo or mono?

Spkrman
12-06-2004, 12:47 PM
well, i didnt have the funds for the wood this weekend, so i will have to wait till payday to commence constructio, so any last minute tips would be great, should the port really be 80 inches, like skrman said, and if i cant make my box bigger, then how will the port taking that much of my airspace work out? cause it would have to be like 13.5X6!! to get 80 inches, and that would mean the port would have to be like 34 inches long for tuning at 35Hz

that would take up1.59 cubic feet, and my subs take up like .45, so that would make my box like 3 cubes after displacement, and that is too small i think., so what do you think?

Don't make the port that long.

Start with that much area and a port that goes straight back, no L.

If it doesnt hit low enough for ya, you can always block off port to tune lower... but if you short your port area, its very difficult to add more.

Or at least thats the train of thought of an SPL'er :)

analogkid
12-06-2004, 01:06 PM
brandon,in the beginning of this thread i read you were going to wire all 4 to 1 ohm. these are single 4 coil subs. how would one do that? just asking cause i got 4 also.

Spkrman
12-06-2004, 01:07 PM
brandon,in the beginning of this thread i read you were going to wire all 4 to 1 ohm. these are single 4 coil subs. how would one do that? just asking cause i got 4 also.

simple, everything in parralel.

analogkid
12-06-2004, 02:40 PM
that dosen't take it to .5 ohm? i always thought if you parallel two 4's you get 2 ohm, add in another you get 1ohm, 1 more and it goes down to .5ohm. i guess this is basic crap i never learned. how does it really work?....or was it 3 would make 1.66ohm and the fourth would take it to 1 ohm?

Spkrman
12-06-2004, 03:05 PM
that dosen't take it to .5 ohm? i always thought if you parallel two 4's you get 2 ohm, add in another you get 1ohm, 1 more and it goes down to .5ohm. i guess this is basic crap i never learned. how does it really work?....or was it 3 would make 1.66ohm and the fourth would take it to 1 ohm?

1/(1/r1 + 1/r2.....)

It actually goes 2 4 ohm parallel = 2 ohms, 3 = 1.3333... ohms, 4 = 1 ohm.

brandontw
12-06-2004, 03:30 PM
I think you should build your box inside your trunk. Fiberglass, ever use it? nope i havent, it sounds hard, and expensive, and i need my box semi removable too.

brandontw
12-06-2004, 03:36 PM
Don't make the port that long.

Start with that much area and a port that goes straight back, no L.

If it doesnt hit low enough for ya, you can always block off port to tune lower... but if you short your port area, its very difficult to add more.

Or at least thats the train of thought of an SPL'er :)
so.. i dont need it to hit extremely hard, im not competing, and my car is already falling apart, so extreme spl will just further tear it apart, and any 4 subs with 1500RMS going to them will be plenty loud for me i think, considering my 2-12s with 600rms was damm loud, and i still want to retain sq, so will my current 54 sq inches of port work ok?, and like i said, what about the airspace i lose increasing my port area, im already pushing it with my current port, i need around 4 cubes after displacement

brandontw
12-06-2004, 03:37 PM
I've been spying on this thread, because I also ordered 4 of those.

I've never used fiberglass; Where to start?

My box design is still up in the air. I'll post more on that, later tonight.

Which amp have you chosen for those 4, Brandon? Running stereo or mono?

hifonics bx1500d, 1500 rms@1 ohm mono

Spkrman
12-06-2004, 04:20 PM
so.. i dont need it to hit extremely hard, im not competing, and my car is already falling apart, so extreme spl will just further tear it apart, and any 4 subs with 1500RMS going to them will be plenty loud for me i think, considering my 2-12s with 600rms was damm loud, and i still want to retain sq, so will my current 54 sq inches of port work ok?, and like i said, what about the airspace i lose increasing my port area, im already pushing it with my current port, i need around 4 cubes after displacement

I'm not saying use more area because it will be louder, I'm sayin block off area until it sounds right to you.

You might end up with 54 sq inches, i duno, 80 might sound perfect.. heck, you could end up with 20 sq inches... but at least you would have tested it so you can be sure.

small variations in size won't really matter, btw ;)

theCybe
12-06-2004, 04:21 PM
How long have you been using it, any problems?

What did it cost you, and where from?

I just won a hundred bucks from my job, payable in a gift certificate to anywhere. I took an eBay certificate.

Other people with amp suggestions for this application?

Just a good match, keep the overkill to yourself :)

brandontw
12-06-2004, 05:58 PM
I'm not saying use more area because it will be louder, I'm sayin block off area until it sounds right to you.

You might end up with 54 sq inches, i duno, 80 might sound perfect.. heck, you could end up with 20 sq inches... but at least you would have tested it so you can be sure.

small variations in size won't really matter, btw ;)

its not a small variation is size though, its .72 cubic feet of difference between a 54 sq inch port, and an 81 sq inch port, that puts me at like 3.3 cubes for my box, and i need 4

Spkrman
12-06-2004, 06:30 PM
its not a small variation is size though, its .72 cubic feet of difference between a 54 sq inch port, and an 81 sq inch port, that puts me at like 3.3 cubes for my box, and i need 4

its not a life and death difference. ;)

brandontw
12-06-2004, 06:55 PM
its not a life and death difference. ;)
ok maybe ill increase it a little, but i would realy like a 2nd opinion, not that i dont trust you
;)

brandontw
12-06-2004, 06:56 PM
maybye ill compromise and do like 60 or 70

Spkrman
12-09-2004, 10:57 AM
ok maybe ill increase it a little, but i would realy like a 2nd opinion, not that i dont trust you
;)

awwwwwww lol

Just going off of rule of thumbs I've developed over the years :)

:thumbsup:

brandontw
12-09-2004, 08:17 PM
well i just made a cardboard model of the box to see if it would fit in my trunk lid, and lo and behold it fits, it fit in theory, but i needed to make sure.... to protect my sanity before i went and built a box that wouldent fit in the opening. those are the absolute max dimensions that will work, anything else will be a little to big to fit in the trunk. i could raise it up like an inch, but then the subs would be really close to the deck, and all that crap, and i f]igured i better leave them a little room. i thnk im gonna leave the port at 4X13.5. mabye ill try 4.5, but i really dont want to lose a cubic foot of my airspace for an 80 inch port, i think tuning at 35 hz will be more than plenty for me.

DBfan187
12-09-2004, 08:22 PM
Try 4.8^3, 80sq.in. of port 35Hz

brandontw
12-09-2004, 08:45 PM
theres no way i can fit that much, my box is 5 cubes now, and 4 after all the displacements, and i cant fit it in the trunk if i make it any bigger