PDA

View Full Version : Re Comps



Dustin19
11-24-2004, 02:31 AM
Ok boy's and girl's. Just ordered a set from RE. So, i have no clue how to install comps, never done it before. So this is the first time. And yes i want to install it myself, I don't want to pay some ******* money for my stuff! Anyways, just need some help on how to install them,and what amp would go perfect for these guys. Thanks for all the help!

Bavarian3
11-24-2004, 03:22 AM
how much do u want to spend on the amp?

for the components, i dont know what to tell u as far as installing. it is prety straight forward. u will need wire to run from the speaker and tweeter to the crossover, and wire to run from the crossover to the amp. Crossovers can be mounted anywhere u want rreally. i used to have mine down under the seats, many people mount em in the trunk. no set rule to this just do what u feel is best. Make sure to use dampening and dont half *** the install, dont do a good job and i gaurentee the top of the line components will sound like ****. good luck.

Dustin19
11-24-2004, 03:36 AM
Well, that was pretty straight forward thanks! Ok so do i need a 2 channel amp or 4?

Bavarian3
11-24-2004, 03:38 AM
u gona run the RE components up front with no rear fill? if so just a 2 channel amp.

Dustin19
11-24-2004, 03:40 AM
Cool thank's alot! And i don't know how much i want to spend on an amp yet, i just want to know whats the best amp for these comps..

Bring97
11-24-2004, 04:02 AM
get US amps 4260 for the comps and what ever speakers you have.







oh and yeah your a *****




no im kidding

Bring97
11-24-2004, 04:05 AM
no wait im not kidding, im drunk




but seriously us amps are great i have about 70 rms goin to my comps and it sounds great, and yes im drunk but i kow what im talkin about

IgnoreMe
11-24-2004, 04:08 AM
one thing i can tell you...i hope your ready to cut some holes in your car to flush mount the tweets...

Dustin19
11-24-2004, 04:18 AM
Well I drive a 93 toyota camyy XLE. It it already has stock tweeters, so im hoping they will fit but i wont find out until my comps are here and the door panel is off!

IgnoreMe
11-24-2004, 04:21 AM
Well I drive a 93 toyota camyy XLE. It it already has stock tweeters, so im hoping they will fit but i wont find out until my comps are here and the door panel is off!
oh well then. looks like your set lol. even if the holes are too big or too small at least your not cutting anything new ;). oh and btw, you will freakin LOVE the RE comps. i know i do

Dustin19
11-24-2004, 05:38 AM
oh well then. looks like your set lol. even if the holes are too big or too small at least your not cutting anything new ;). oh and btw, you will freakin LOVE the RE comps. i know i do
Sweet now that's what i wanted to hear! Thanks guys!

squeak9798
11-24-2004, 10:24 AM
Be sure you have some way of sealing your door :) Sound deadening your door isn't even an option once you get comps in there.....it's mandatory. So if you haven't thought about that yet, start ;)

req
11-24-2004, 10:38 AM
or check out the US Acoustics over at www.sounddomain.com, they have a good 2 channel amp for about $130.

make sure you take pictures.

2kchevy06civic
11-24-2004, 12:19 PM
yeah, I plan on getting these comps soon as well. So take some pics and get those bad boys installed!

tRiGgEr
11-24-2004, 12:23 PM
How much did they run you???

DBfan187
11-24-2004, 12:24 PM
How much did they run you???

$150 direct from RE

tRiGgEr
11-24-2004, 12:26 PM
$150 direct from RE

Is that before or after shipping?

skeptikal
11-24-2004, 12:37 PM
they are 165$ after shipping

tRiGgEr
11-24-2004, 12:41 PM
they are 165$ after shipping

Cool thanks.

Dustin19
11-24-2004, 01:33 PM
Ok, I'll try to get some pictures when ever I install them. Went to hook up my amp to my Se12 earlier and the ***** doesn't work so I'm not that happy right now!

Bring97
11-24-2004, 06:58 PM
man that *****, but look at it this way, its a time to upgrade your amp then

Dustin19
11-24-2004, 07:13 PM
Not when your on a tight budget!

2kchevy06civic
11-25-2004, 01:19 AM
Not when your on a tight budget!

ain't that the **** truth =\. sorry bout the amp.

smullen
11-26-2004, 11:27 AM
How much nominal power should you put to the RE components?

IgnoreMe
11-26-2004, 01:42 PM
im runnin 80 watts to them, another ca.com memeber said he ran 150 to them with no probs.

smullen
11-26-2004, 06:01 PM
pics???
:)

Dustin19
11-27-2004, 03:59 AM
Oh yeah i forgot. I have a stock little amp thats powering my stock 6.5, tweeters and 6.9's. Do i take this out when i install my Re comps?

Dustin19
11-27-2004, 12:16 PM
Oh yeah i forgot. I have a stock little amp thats powering my stock 6.5, tweeters and 6.9's. Do i take this out when i install my Re comps?

Help?

squeak9798
11-27-2004, 12:30 PM
You can leave it in....just don't use it

Sascha1981
11-28-2004, 09:31 PM
I also plan on getting the RE RE comps. The problem is my amp has 100 watts. Can they handle that?

lotas
11-28-2004, 09:41 PM
I also plan on getting the RE RE comps. The problem is my amp has 100 watts. Can they handle that?
probably cause theyre RE, just make sure you watch your gains.


are the RE comps better than the CDT Cl-61 comps? what are the RE's known for? good tight bass? clear? etc

i havent heard much bout them

smullen
11-28-2004, 09:52 PM
I would say yes, unless you get happy with the gains and the Volume knob...

Sascha1981
11-28-2004, 10:33 PM
So I'm good to go?

Sascha1981
11-28-2004, 10:35 PM
lotas,
Check out this thread: http://forums.caraudio.com/vb/showthread.php?t=77098&page=1&pp=15

Bavarian3
11-29-2004, 12:21 AM
I also plan on getting the RE RE comps. The problem is my amp has 100 watts. Can they handle that?
what amp is it?

there is nothing wrong with having extra power, this is a good thing. be sure to tune the amp right and ull be fine.

Sascha1981
11-29-2004, 12:48 AM
Alright, good to know.

Sascha1981
11-29-2004, 12:49 AM
Oh and it is a Hifonics Z4000. Is that bad Bavarian3?

Bavarian3
11-29-2004, 01:18 AM
nah thats perfectly fine.

Sascha1981
11-29-2004, 01:23 AM
I just checked out the Elemental Designs 6500S. They have exactly 100 watts rms. What do you think would that be better than overpowering the RE's?

lotas
11-29-2004, 01:30 AM
I just checked out the Elemental Designs 6500S. They have exactly 100 watts rms. What do you think would that be better than overpowering the RE's?
i really dont think 100w is overpowering RE's if theyre rated at 75...i mean the XXX is rated at 1600 and ive heard of people throwing 2500watts at it...thats 900watts let alone 25.

if you watch your gains correctly you should be fine. And depending on the amp it might even be overrated

Sascha1981
11-29-2004, 01:37 AM
I think you're talking about their subs. I'm talking about their comps. The RE RE comps have 50 watts rms! Is giving them 100watts overpowering in your opiniom? And wouldn't I be better off getting the ED's?

lotas
11-29-2004, 02:16 AM
I think you're talking about their subs. I'm talking about their comps. The RE RE comps have 50 watts rms! Is giving them 100watts overpowering in your opiniom? And wouldn't I be better off getting the ED's?


er yeah the XXX i was referring to their sub, but my poitn was about the company RE...their stuff is strong. I didnt know it was 50watts rms, i thought it was 75..thats a little different now...but still...RE stuff can take more than their RMS...and a lot of amps are underrated...what kind of amp do you have?

Sascha1981
11-29-2004, 02:25 AM
Hifonics Z4000

Bavarian3
11-29-2004, 02:25 AM
I just checked out the Elemental Designs 6500S. They have exactly 100 watts rms. What do you think would that be better than overpowering the RE's?
the EDi's are on a higher level than the RE re line of components. so yes they would be better.

Bring97
11-29-2004, 04:05 AM
well the re comps have the xbl tech on them as well so the only way these bishes are gunna distort is right on the breaking point or blown just so you know. im giving mine 75 rms and they love it and can take more.

squeak9798
11-29-2004, 09:52 AM
Some companies just rate their speakers/subs RMS by using the thermal rating of the voice coil and calling it a day. RE rates their speakers/subs RMS by taking into account the DAF (******* factor) of their customer base. So just because they are only rated 50w, it doesn't mean they can't handle 100w just fine. It means that RE felt that 50w was a good amount of power for them in most circumstances, and was a rating that would safely power the comps in more circumstances.

Dustin19
12-02-2004, 12:59 PM
Well i went to go test fit the midbass in my stock location, and the **** magnet on the Re 6.5 looks like its going to scrap the window. So um any ideas? Oh and the **** tweeter wont fit in the stock tweeter location, so im going to have to cut holes in my door panel..... Kinda ***** but oh well! :thumbsdo:

IgnoreMe
12-02-2004, 01:37 PM
make a space for the mids. its easy. just use a little bit of thin mdf or masonite which is what i did. as for the tweets well just make the hole a little bit bigger...trust me for these RE comps its worth it ;)

Dustin19
12-02-2004, 01:52 PM
Yeah, oh and my friend let me use this ****** little Jenson XA92 amp. Im just going to see how it sounds until I get a real amp. Does anyone know the specs. on this amp. It's umm blue and small and gay...

Dustin19
12-02-2004, 02:52 PM
One more thing. whenever i install these, do i have to mess with any wiring on the HU. I know i need rcas remote and ground for the amp, but installing these componets are going to be a ***** for me..

Dustin19
12-02-2004, 04:52 PM
Anyone?

smullen
12-02-2004, 05:15 PM
make a space for the mids. its easy. just use a little bit of thin mdf or masonite which is what i did. as for the tweets well just make the hole a little bit bigger...trust me for these RE comps its worth it ;)
Yea I agree with him, make a spacer to set them out a bit...

Bavarian3
12-02-2004, 05:17 PM
use 1/2" MDF. cut out a ring for it, mount it to the door, and there u go. It will give u the extra clearance u need for the magnet. I had to do this is my gf's car as well.

smullen
12-02-2004, 05:18 PM
One more thing. whenever i install these, do i have to mess with any wiring on the HU. I know i need rcas remote and ground for the amp, but installing these componets are going to be a ***** for me..
You pretty much have two options....

1. Run off the head unit (not really an option, don't do)

2. Run RCAs and a turn on wire from the head unit to the AMP, power and ground to the amp, speaker wire from the amp to the Crossover unit, then from it to the drivers themselves...

Dustin19
12-02-2004, 05:25 PM
Thanks for the help fellas