PDA

View Full Version : audiobahn



Evan3m
11-23-2004, 05:22 PM
i wanted to get an audiobahn crossover/EQ......it is a 2-way...ax202p...to put on my sub....is this any good? and can it only control my sub? any other suggestions?

bonesninja
11-23-2004, 05:25 PM
why do you need a crossover just for a sub? what amp will you use? it mostly likely has a low pass filter.

Evan3m
11-23-2004, 05:27 PM
im using a hifonics 1500d....it has a low pass i think but some1 told me it wasnt enough and to get better quality i needed a crossover...do i not need one at all?

bonesninja
11-23-2004, 05:31 PM
i don't think you really need to dedicate a crossover for a subwoofer---however its possible you may need a sub-sonic filter to prevent you sb from playing notes lower than the tuning freq. of your enclosure.

Evan3m
11-23-2004, 05:37 PM
alright...so what happens if the sub plays notes lower than the box is made for?
and where should i use crossovers and EQs for?

bonesninja
11-23-2004, 05:42 PM
you can seriously damage your subs if its playing notes below your tuning freq. basicaly you need to figure out what tuning freq you have and then set or buy filters that cut notes off below your freq. an equalizer is used for adjusting the levels of certain freqs.

justsayk
11-23-2004, 06:56 PM
doesn't the bx1500d have a built in subsonic filter?

bonesninja
11-23-2004, 06:57 PM
doesn't the bx1500d have a built in subsonic filter?
i haven't a cllue.

ShakinSupra
11-23-2004, 07:01 PM
Yes, the Brutus has a built in variable 24db/octave x-over and built in variable subsonic filter, you don't need an external crossover.