PDA

View Full Version : Is my port calculation correct?



btnhfan
11-20-2004, 12:16 PM
The opening is 8x4, its going to be a rectangle and in the middle of the box, not against one of the walls. I want it tuned to 32hz, and I entered that into the formula and got a length of 8.5. Is this correct?
Total box volume=4.94141 (w/out any displacement)

Nikuk
11-20-2004, 12:45 PM
whats the displacement after the sub? are you using 3/4" for the 4 port walls?

btnhfan
11-20-2004, 03:03 PM
Each sub displaces .15, and Im going to use .5 mdf for the port walls instead of 3/4. To get total displacement I just multiply 8.5x4x8 and then put that over 1728 right?

btnhfan
11-20-2004, 03:17 PM
Well I went over them again and realized that my port length was incorrect. It should be about 17 inches.