PDA

View Full Version : Ported Box for....



kbkid
11-13-2004, 01:15 PM
I am going to try to make a ported box for two 15" Resonant Engineering SEs. RE recommends that the ported box be 8 cubic feet for these subs. The box will be going in a Ford Explorer. If it was possible I was going to make the subs face each other at an angle of some sort, but if that is too complicated then I won't. Can anyone make a drawing or something showing me how this ported box should look to a certain extent.

Also, does anyone know how much space the back of the box has to be from the back of the subwoofer itself? I mean can it be right up against it or should it be back a certain distance?

Thanks, Kyle

JimJ
11-13-2004, 01:18 PM
there needs to be enough room for the pole vent to get some ventilation...an inch or two is fine.

kbkid
11-13-2004, 01:24 PM
Ok so what is there a certain angle the subs shouldn't be facing each other? I know they shouldnt be both facing directly at each other but what is the limit? Or should I just stick to a rectangular box?

OLD_SCHOOL
11-13-2004, 02:01 PM
rectangular box you have plenty room

kbkid
11-13-2004, 02:25 PM
I know I have plenty of room, I just thought it would look alot better with angled subs. Or is that too complicated to develop a box? Can someone make a drawing for a box I may need. It needs to be 8 cubes. I wanted it to go wheel-well to wheel well which would be able 4 feet. I know it needs to be at the least of 15 inches tall because that is what size subs I am getting but I don't know how deep it needs to be. And can someone show me how the port should look and how to tune it to a certain number.

req
11-13-2004, 02:35 PM
I know I have plenty of room, I just thought it would look alot better with angled subs. Or is that too complicated to develop a box? Can someone make a drawing for a box I may need. It needs to be 8 cubes. I wanted it to go wheel-well to wheel well which would be able 4 feet. I know it needs to be at the least of 15 inches tall because that is what size subs I am getting but I don't know how deep it needs to be. And can someone show me how the port should look and how to tune it to a certain number.

its quite a bit more complicated than that.

in fact, im still freaking learning this garbage... i suggest contacting somone on the boards, and paying them $5~10 to design you a box. then you build it yourself.

and this will help you learn in the process. :)

Jmac does this, but his computer just got busted, so i dont know how long it will take for him to get back together.

kbkid
11-13-2004, 02:44 PM
What all is it to designing a box? I mean is it just throwing some deminsions on it and building it or what? I don't have no problem building I just don't understand the way the port needs to be constructed. I was going to make a ported box 4 ft. x 18in. x 18in. That would make the cubes to come out to be 9 cubic foot. RE recommends 8 cubes all together so where could I take some space off at? The depth? Could I make it 15 inches deep?

kbkid
11-13-2004, 03:51 PM
Anyone?

OLD_SCHOOL
11-13-2004, 04:05 PM
i charge 10 dollars to draw boxs.. or you can do as you said throw some measurments together...

kbkid
11-13-2004, 04:55 PM
How do I know if the boxes you draw for me are going to work and stuff though? lol

OLD_SCHOOL
11-13-2004, 06:40 PM
becuase they are cutom made to your specs

avs20
11-13-2004, 07:30 PM
kbkid...apparently you are smarter than everyone here. Just throw some dimensions together and build it..that will work better than someone else who knows what they're doing design you a box. The search button works wonders, noob.

woahloud
11-13-2004, 07:53 PM
Ah, what does old_school know anyways??








hehehe.. j/p



I'd say pay the man his $10 and have him come up with a box. Spend the money and build it. Instead of, "throwing dimentions together" and WASTING your time and money.

kbkid
11-13-2004, 08:35 PM
Ok ****. I am trying to learn instead of paying someone to do it for me. No need for stupid remarks. I never said I was "smarter" than anyone on here I was just curious to what else is to it.

woahloud
11-13-2004, 08:38 PM
Use the search button...


It won't hurt you, I promise.

kbkid
11-13-2004, 08:41 PM
Umm Ok.

Edit: Searched and didn't come up with anything that would help.

tommyk90
11-13-2004, 08:50 PM
8 cubic feet is HUGE for 2 15" SE's. Thats a box more suited for dual XXX's.

Did RE give you that number?

kbkid
11-13-2004, 08:58 PM
Tommy,

No RE did not give me that number. On their website it says that for a 15" SE it needs 4 cu. ft. tuned to 30 Hz. Since I will be getting two 15" SEs, I thought I would need to double the space so each sub would have 4 cubes. Is that wrong?

kbkid
11-13-2004, 10:06 PM
Is that right?

tommyk90
11-14-2004, 03:08 AM
Tommy,

No RE did not give me that number. On their website it says that for a 15" SE it needs 4 cu. ft. tuned to 30 Hz. Since I will be getting two 15" SEs, I thought I would need to double the space so each sub would have 4 cubes. Is that wrong?

Hmm, i guess thats a right number then. Just seemed kinda large to me.

I say try it out and see what happens, but definitely don't overpower them. :)

kbkid
11-14-2004, 03:19 AM
I will be feeding them with a Hifonics BX1500D amp. Is that going to be too much over-power for two SEs?

mrray13
11-14-2004, 12:32 PM
post ur max dimensions...please..







wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :peace:

IgnoreMe
11-14-2004, 01:03 PM
8 cubic feet is HUGE for 2 15" SE's. Thats a box more suited for dual XXX's.

Did RE give you that number?
i was thinkin the same thing but thats what RE calls for. big jump from the cubes required for the 12's to the cubes required for the 15's.

kbkid
11-14-2004, 06:09 PM
My max dimensions for the cargo area?