PDA

View Full Version : Enough room for ported box?



cappleton3
10-29-2004, 01:53 PM
I have a Toyota Tacoma Xtracab and just ordered a 12" Brahma. I have the following dimensions to work with and need to know if this is enough volume for a ported box or if I will need to stay with a sealed enclosure. 22"W x 18" H x 15"D.

Thanks in advance for your help.

tRiGgEr
10-29-2004, 02:17 PM
I have a Toyota Tacoma Xtracab and just ordered a 12" Brahma. I have the following dimensions to work with and need to know if this is enough volume for a ported box or if I will need to stay with a sealed enclosure. 22"W x 18" H x 15"D.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Nope.

2.64ft^3 then take in to consideration the port (which needs to be big) then any bracing.

It can be done but the port would have to be small.

BASS OUTLAW
10-29-2004, 03:15 PM
try using single 12" in ported,

cappleton3
10-29-2004, 03:19 PM
To be clear, this box will be for a single 12" Brahma. If the 2.64ft^3 is not large enough, can someone tell me how much bigger I will need to go? I can't alter the height or the depth, but I might be able to squeeze a bit more for the width.

??"W x 18"H x 15"D.

BASS OUTLAW
10-29-2004, 03:24 PM
2.64 cuft with port displacement is actually good.
net vol. for sub with port displacement should not be less than 1.75 cuft.
so its good, u got space :)

cappleton3
10-29-2004, 03:38 PM
I really appreciate the quick responses. Now assuming I have space, how do I go about determining the measurements for the box and the port? I talked to a couple of shops in my area, but they had never head of Adire and weren't too interested in spending the time to build me a box because I didn't buy the driver from them. They kept trying to steer me into a Q-logic pre-fab. No thanks.

I don't mind paying money for the plans and building the box myself, I just want to make sure it's built right. $379 is too much to put into a halfway decent enclosure.

cappleton3
10-29-2004, 03:59 PM
Well, assuming you are one of the 1/512 people who actually know what they are talking about, I don't have a problem spending $10 on a good set of plans. ; )

How do you determine enclosure specifics based upon the space I have to work with? Computer software or experience? How many boxes have you designed so far? Not trying to give you a hard time.

tRiGgEr
10-29-2004, 04:28 PM
Well, assuming you are one of the 1/512 people who actually know what they are talking about, I don't have a problem spending $10 on a good set of plans. ; )

How do you determine enclosure specifics based upon the space I have to work with? Computer software or experience? How many boxes have you designed so far? Not trying to give you a hard time.

Jmac's got the know how to help you out.

cappleton3
10-29-2004, 05:53 PM
Jmac's got the know how to help you out.

Thanks for that. I was just looking at his post count and profile. He looks to have the know-how I need.

Moe Lester
10-30-2004, 04:24 PM
Ya, jmac knows what hes doin :) hell draw you up a nice design.

cappleton3
10-31-2004, 08:29 PM
Sounds good. Should I just hit you up through AIM to get things rolling?

cappleton3
11-01-2004, 10:27 AM
E-mail sent to Jmac.