PDA

View Full Version : 4" Port... Big Enough For This Box?



Jonahdude
10-18-2004, 07:31 PM
If I had a box for 6 8" subwoofers, with a net volume of 4.46 ft^3, would a 4" port be big enough? It would be 3.5" long, which would tune it between 34hz and 35hz.

Moe Lester
10-18-2004, 07:34 PM
I would do at least 1 4" port per pair of 8s personally...

Jonahdude
10-18-2004, 07:35 PM
so 3 4" ports, how long would each have to be to tune to 35hz? Would it still be 3.5 inches, or does it change when you add more ports?

Jonahdude
10-18-2004, 07:50 PM
Bumped TTT!

Jonahdude
10-18-2004, 09:46 PM
TTT again...

Jonahdude
10-19-2004, 03:28 AM
Ttt, when adding more ports to you have to increase the length of each to maintain the same tuning?

Exaran
10-19-2004, 09:01 AM
I just learned this last night: :)

For multiple ports, just divide the volume of the enclosure of the box by the number of ports, and calculate each port by itself

So with your numbers above, you divide 4.46 ft^3 by the 3 ports = 1.48 ft^3 per port

Now calculate the port as you normally would to tune a 1.48 ft^3 box to 34hz... then make all 3 ports that size. Get it? If not, I'm just wakin up, I can clarify later...

Jonahdude
10-19-2004, 11:26 AM
I just learned this last night: :)

For multiple ports, just divide the volume of the enclosure of the box by the number of ports, and calculate each port by itself

So with your numbers above, you divide 4.46 ft^3 by the 3 ports = 1.48 ft^3 per port

Now calculate the port as you normally would to tune a 1.48 ft^3 box to 34hz... then make all 3 ports that size. Get it? If not, I'm just wakin up, I can clarify later...

Ahh, I get it, that makes sense. Can anyone verify that?

Exaran
10-19-2004, 11:45 AM
I got it off JL's tutorial site if you wanna check that out

Jonahdude
10-19-2004, 12:24 PM
Alright, it's not that I didn't believe you it's just that you said you learned it last night.

OLD_SCHOOL
10-19-2004, 07:42 PM
hope your not tuning low