PDA

View Full Version : slot port



DBdrag
10-11-2004, 09:00 AM
i finally got my subs installed and they look **** good....but here is my question..i have four ma audio 12's in a sealed enclouser..each 12 requires 0.75-1.75 cu/ft sealed and 2 cu/ft ported....i want to put a slot port in my box..but my box is a little over 6 cu/ft..each sub requires a area of 25 sq/in and 15.5 inches deep,,but that would be for 8 cu/ft..since mine is only 6 cu/ft could i cut back on the port size and length without messing up my box?

pro-rabbit
10-11-2004, 11:07 AM
Well first tell me what you want to tune it too...and the HxWxD of the box..I can get you an exact slot port for that box....just fill in the blanks and I will check back and plug it all in...

DBdrag
10-11-2004, 02:14 PM
ita a wedge box..here are the inner dem...
H 29 1/2
D17 1/2
W 49 1/2
I want the box tuned more toward SPL but i also want to play rock and rap..so is there a happy medium

pro-rabbit
10-11-2004, 03:04 PM
I would say try a 45hz tunning and see if you like that...will play loud on a mic and play most of your notes depending on how it fires in the car/truck.. so start with a 100in2 port that is 13.5" long should tune you around 45hz and make a big difference from sealed..

*Note if you want to play lower then that make the port longer for lower tunning.

OLD_SCHOOL
10-11-2004, 04:12 PM
45 Hz is to high IMO for a Daley driver

jellyfish420
10-11-2004, 11:55 PM
i never go higher than 35Hz.

DBdrag
10-12-2004, 12:18 PM
i have all 4 subs firing up at the celing...thw box is where my back seat "used" to be......will this make any difference on how i should port it?