PDA

View Full Version : 150 bucks to spend, what HU to get?



jaygeorge1979
09-30-2004, 04:55 PM
well its time to get a Head Unit for my truck, and i dont wanna spend more than 150...i used to have an aiwa deck, but the sound wasnt all that great...i was thinking about maybe a pioneer deck this time...which would you guys recommend? i dont need it to do a whole lot except play Cds and sound good, i would prefer MP3 playback, only if its less than 150...what do u guys think?

jaygeorge1979
09-30-2004, 04:56 PM
oh yea, the only speakers I have are some boston acoustics 6x9's if that matters....

Slody4Futbol
09-30-2004, 04:58 PM
a radio for under $150 that does mp3... jvc kdg300... unless you want to buy on ebay... but if u want to buy retail... then that's a good deck... otherwise... pioneer 3600 would be a nice choice but no mp3...

jaygeorge1979
09-30-2004, 05:23 PM
i would be willing to use ebay to make this purchase...if that is the case, what else, other than the JVC unit, would u recommend?

Slody4Futbol
09-30-2004, 05:36 PM
you could get a lot on ebay... i did a quick search and came up with...

Clarion DXZ-545MP... Pioneer Premier DEH-P460MP... JVC KD-G700... Panasonic CQ-DF783U... Pioneer Premier DEH-P560MP... Kenwood KDC-X579... and lots more...

Bigrick31
09-30-2004, 06:20 PM
you could probably get a pioneer deh-6500mp on ebay for about 150 (Not including shipping) i run this deck in my can and it sounds great. it gives you a lot of tuning options.

Slody4Futbol
09-30-2004, 08:31 PM
he could get a 6500... but it's not mp3... the only mp3 players they make are the 4500... 5500... 8500 and 9500...

jtomsic
09-30-2004, 10:02 PM
3600 does mp3.

Slody4Futbol
09-30-2004, 10:30 PM
no it doesn't

Scarenius
09-30-2004, 10:55 PM
The JVC JD-G300 is a really great SQ reciever, but it's not that loud. I own one.

jaygeorge1979
09-30-2004, 11:56 PM
i appreciate all these replys guys...yall helpin alot...anybody else have anything to add?

and also, does the 3600 do MP3 or not?

thanks

Slody4Futbol
09-30-2004, 11:59 PM
no it does not... only the 4600... 5600... 7600... 8600... 9600...

jtomsic
10-01-2004, 12:35 AM
guess the mp3 cd i play in my car everyday dont really work.

Slody4Futbol
10-01-2004, 12:43 AM
correct... either that or you don't have a true "MP3" cd... or you don't have a Pioneer DEH-P3600
how many songs do you have on it?

jtomsic
10-01-2004, 12:44 AM
which one? some have 100 or more.

Slody4Futbol
10-01-2004, 12:46 AM
then you don't have a 3600... even on pioneer's website it states that the 3600 doesn't play mp3's

jaygeorge1979
10-01-2004, 09:15 AM
i am gonna have to go with their website, although i cant explain how it works for MP3s for one person....

thanks again to all replies

anybody think i should go for something other than pioneer?

dkguitarist
12-09-2004, 08:00 PM
i kno it's old thread but this is where i might've found a better hu at. does anyone know about this website? good or bad? or should i stay with rated sites? http://www.sbhcorp.com/scripts/homeViewItem-1117.html

c0la
12-09-2004, 11:08 PM
The 8400 pioneer plays mp3

dkguitarist
12-10-2004, 11:06 AM
well i was wondering if anyone's ever ordered through this website and if they did, did they have any problems with item shipment being delayed, not arriving on time, etc.

rocchi
12-12-2004, 07:17 PM
I have a clarion pro audio drx5575 for 100 if you are interested.

Jon

Norcalracer283
12-12-2004, 07:20 PM
Kenwood Mp-425 from Ike sound

chadsmith013
02-02-2005, 10:26 PM
I know this is an old thread but can anyone answer why the 3600 does or doesnt play MP3's. I was looking at this CD player, walked in to Circuit City put in 2 different MP3 CD's and both played great, but everything I read says it doesnt play them...what gives?

Slody4Futbol
02-02-2005, 10:32 PM
i will try it tomorrow on our 3600 and see... how many songs were on it? some people think an mp3 cd is when you burn an audio cd with mp3's... an mp3 is a data cd with a folder or folders with .mp3's in it... can get over 100 songs on a cd... i'll check 2morrow tho even though it's not an mp3 player i'll see if it will work

chadsmith013
02-02-2005, 11:06 PM
i will try it tomorrow on our 3600 and see... how many songs were on it? some people think an mp3 cd is when you burn an audio cd with mp3's... an mp3 is a data cd with a folder or folders with .mp3's in it... can get over 100 songs on a cd... i'll check 2morrow tho even though it's not an mp3 player i'll see if it will work


Aprreciate you checking...well basically these are songs that I have downloaded, then burned to a CD. Has about 15-17 songs on it. This is what Im interested in.

Slody4Futbol
02-02-2005, 11:35 PM
Aprreciate you checking...well basically these are songs that I have downloaded, then burned to a CD. Has about 15-17 songs on it. This is what Im interested in.

15-17 because that's all you could fit? if so you didn't burn an "MP3 cd" you just burnt a music cd

xchaosx
02-03-2005, 12:32 PM
Aprreciate you checking...well basically these are songs that I have downloaded, then burned to a CD. Has about 15-17 songs on it. This is what Im interested in.


yup that's not an mp3 disk when burning it should be burn in data format with nero you can tell cause the disc space at the bottom goes from min.(cd audio) to MB (data mp3) i have a 8400mp

xchaosx
02-03-2005, 12:39 PM
Aprreciate you checking...well basically these are songs that I have downloaded, then burned to a CD. Has about 15-17 songs on it. This is what Im interested in.


btw my 8400 is for sale 150 + shipping if your interested pm me
http://www.caraudio.com/vb/showthread.php?t=81915 pic here

chadsmith013
02-03-2005, 07:41 PM
15-17 because that's all you could fit? if so you didn't burn an "MP3 cd" you just burnt a music cd


tell me whats the error in my way.....how do I burn a MP3 cd...I have some program that came with my computer, it says make cd, i click on it, then add songs to the list.....is there anything special that you have to do it that way.

thanks

vosschs
02-03-2005, 11:28 PM
ask mr lokie if he has his sony deck, its pretty nice,

Slody4Futbol
02-04-2005, 12:29 AM
tell me whats the error in my way.....how do I burn a MP3 cd...I have some program that came with my computer, it says make cd, i click on it, then add songs to the list.....is there anything special that you have to do it that way.

thanks

to burn an MP3 cd... you have to click .. burn Data Disc... or somethin similar... do not burn an audio disc... then instead of burning by however minutes long the tracks are... it burns by file size... so instead of 80 minutes of music... u can fit 700MB of music :D