PDA

View Full Version : New Adire midwoofers, need enclosures?



Bobyota
09-18-2004, 02:52 PM
I'm just toying with the idea of using an Adire Koda 8 or Extremis 6 as a midbass/midrange speaker. But do they require enclosures?

I know that RE recomends enclosures for the XXX's and say that they wouldn't be an upgrade over the RE line if used IB. IB is all I can use :stuck:

Is it the low QTS that would make a speaker want a box?

I really just want sick midbass :banghead:

bent70
09-21-2004, 09:33 PM
I emailed Adire about the Extremis 6's and the said for auto appl. you can go either IB or ported .5^3 @ 45hz.

I'm not sure which I'll do as I think I have room for either.

supa_c
09-21-2004, 09:36 PM
thats one mean 6 1/2" speaker
I highly doubt that the Koda 8 would be able to pefrom in a IB set up
Adire all the way !
Funny thing, the Koda midbass is more $$ !

ShakinSupra
09-21-2004, 10:07 PM
Isn't the Extremis 6 made mainly for HT use, 8-ohm? Anyone know the mounting depth on those?

supa_c
09-21-2004, 10:08 PM
there prob SVC 4 ohm or DVC 4 ohm.
depth, look really deep

ShakinSupra
09-21-2004, 10:16 PM
On the website it says RE: 7.02 Ohms, so I assumed they were 8 ohm.

bent70
09-21-2004, 10:19 PM
there 8ohm drivers.
I'm ordering 4 so I could get a 4 ohm load.
Just not sure what to do with the rest of the 2-way.

supa_c
09-21-2004, 10:22 PM
get the tweets.

bent70
09-21-2004, 10:34 PM
really....... :)
I'm not sure which ones to go with yet, still researching and tring to figure out passive x-overs.

supa_c
09-21-2004, 10:37 PM
www.adireaudio.com/images (http://www.adireaudio.com/images)
www.adireaudio.com/Files (http://www.adireaudio.com/Files)
look in there ( secret stuff )

Tirefryr
09-21-2004, 11:21 PM
There's a 4 ohm version of the Extremis available.

squeak9798
09-22-2004, 10:48 AM
There's a 4 ohm version of the Extremis available.

Is it available now?? Cause last I heard, they weren't quite done gathering the T/S params and stuff for the 4ohm version, so they were just releasing the 8ohm for now.

supa_c
09-22-2004, 04:16 PM
hmmm, thats not good for me

Tirefryr
09-22-2004, 05:25 PM
Is it available now?? Cause last I heard, they weren't quite done gathering the T/S params and stuff for the 4ohm version, so they were just releasing the 8ohm for now.


Not sure about that, I just remember (unnamed Adire employee) saying there was a 4 ohm version available.