PDA

View Full Version : Help damaged speaker (looking for new)

dustinr
09-10-2004, 12:58 AM
Hi,

Currently I'm running 2 Memphis Audio 5.25's for my front door speakers and 2 Rockford Fosgate Power T152C 5.25's on the back doors.. The Memphis Audio's I bought off of my brother and were bought about a year ago. Today I was out riding around with one of my friends.. and he accidently kicked my woofer on one of the Memphis's and I'm pretty sure its done for. I'm not mad really.. I have been thinking about buying some new speakers or comps for the front anyways. The speaker works fine on low volumes, but when it gets high and bass is involved.. it sounds like **** and the woofer doesn't move as much as my other one. Really, I need help picking out a good pair of speakers or comps. I'm pretty new to car audio, and I don't even know the difference between them. Components are like more than 2 way? Correct? Well, anyways.. I have a budget of around $100-175 bucks, If you could direct me to a pair of good speakers or comps I would gladly appreciate it. Also I was wondering if someone could give me some pointers in doing a good install on door speakers. Basically with the ones I have in right now, I just wired them up where they're soposed to be wired on the magnet and screwed them to the door where the stock speakers where. I left the grills off b/c they were rattling, and they weren't as loud. I would really like to get some new speakers within a few days, b.c this one speaker is driving me nuts!!.. Please help :)

Dustin

squeak9798
09-10-2004, 01:49 AM
If you are not going to amplify the speakers, then stick with co-axials. If you plan on amping them in the very short term future, then get components.