PDA

View Full Version : too little power upfront??



thismightbepat
08-02-2004, 11:14 PM
I'm planning on getting a 15"XXX with a hifonics 1500bd for my 89 sierra. I'm just a little worried about not having the power upfront to match the insane amount of power that the lows will be getting. I have 2 pairs of Infinity Kappas running at 60w rms per speaker (sony xplod 4060-gtx 4 ch. amp.........eh, say what u want, it sounds and performs fine to me). What do you guys think? Should I look into beefing up the hi's and mid's, or will what i have work fine?

supa_c
08-02-2004, 11:18 PM
60w will get some speakers really poundin. you should be fine with 60w.

ShakinSupra
08-03-2004, 12:29 AM
Kinda like my setup, 60.5cs components in the front and 692.5i 6x9s in the rear, run off a Sony Xplod amp that puts out 75x4. They should really get moving. In my setup with all speakers enclosed, they still don't have a lot of low end, but the highs will make your ears bleed. They have really harsh tweets without any EQ though.

thismightbepat
08-03-2004, 03:41 AM
alright thanks guys, i have another question though (for the sake of not opening up another thread i'll leave it in here). I have pretty much a stock electrical system, except the alternator and battery are both very new (the battery is an autozone bat that cost like 80 bucks, and the alt, well im assuming its w/e normally comes with sierras). do u think i'll need to do any electrical upgrading?

supa_c
08-03-2004, 05:12 AM
just do the big 3. http://forum.sounddomain.com/forum/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=5;t=007801
also check the alt wiring, mine was 6ga so i put 4ga on there with a fuse, bumped up the volts to 14.4. 6 ga is to small for the alt.

thismightbepat
08-03-2004, 04:11 PM
alright, i understand all of that except for the part about buying a new fuse to match the amp of the new wire (i think thats step 2). could u elaborate? oh, and since i guess the best thing to get is 1/0 gauge wire for this, wheres a good place to find a whole lot of this stuff for a good price?

supa_c
08-03-2004, 10:12 PM
http://www.weldingsupply.com/cgi-bin/einstein.pl?Next::1:UNDEF:OR:terms::PA cheapest place to get 1/0 ga. they have up to 4/0 ga. Ebay has all the connectors.
For the alt just get a 100-120a fuse for the alt.

thismightbepat
08-03-2004, 10:33 PM
alright thanks alot man

supa_c
08-03-2004, 10:36 PM
no prob.
im guessing you have the 104a alt, if there is any different ones.

thismightbepat
08-03-2004, 11:21 PM
I wouldnt know, I havent looked into it yet. Im on vacation in WA right now, so when i get back home I'll check it out and see what's going on with it.

supa_c
08-03-2004, 11:42 PM
they are set at 13.8v which you wont get max power out of your amp.
14.4 is what most alts do.

thismightbepat
08-03-2004, 11:44 PM
and doing the big 3 will bump up the voltage to 14.4?

supa_c
08-04-2004, 02:18 AM
maby.
the alt has an internal regulator. when i put 4ga from my alt to batt it starts out @ 14.4v then it slowly goes down to 13.8v. Thats not what i want but i dont know how/can't change it.