PDA

View Full Version : How much power can CL61's take?



phatcat600
07-15-2004, 12:28 AM
I heard 150

what amp should I get to power a set? i want them to scream.

if i get those components for the front doors i wont need any other speakers but the sub right?

phatcat600
07-15-2004, 11:46 AM
Is there a cheap Profile amp that would be sufficiant?

I want something that will put out 100 watts rms to 4 channels at whatever ohms I need for those speakers.

m1122
07-15-2004, 12:50 PM
i think they make a 75 x 4 @ 4ohms...... check ikesound.

i was running my ef's bridged by a 50 x 4 xtant for awhile...... giving it about 200 watts. high passed at about 90 and they were fine. tweeter did break up though at higher volumes.

phatcat600
07-15-2004, 03:59 PM
any other recommendations? is will they get louder and still sound good with more than 75?

desi_daru
07-15-2004, 04:25 PM
if ur only gonna have front stage and a sub, y do u want a 100+ rmx x4??? y not jus get a 2 channel amp...., unles u gonna get some in the rear in the future

jujumantb
07-15-2004, 05:06 PM
if ur only gonna have front stage and a sub, y do u want a 100+ rmx x4??? y not jus get a 2 channel amp...., unles u gonna get some in the rear in the future
You can get pretty cheap power if you bridge a 4-channel amp to 2-channels. Or you can bridge the rears to a sub without having to buy another amp.

phatcat600
07-15-2004, 10:16 PM
In case I want rear speakers in the future...

I dont think bridgin the two extra channels would be sufficient for the 15" D2 I plan on getting...

kappa546
07-15-2004, 10:26 PM
it could be... before my sub amp came in thats exactly what i was doing... had the rear channels of my old tru 4.65 giving it about 250 or so and it got loud enough to keep up with the music. if you're not looking for ridiculous bass, that could be a pretty simple setup.

djdilliodon
07-16-2004, 05:16 AM
If u plane on running 150rms per side u better get the 560 xover upgrade as your tweets will almost def keep shutting on and off from protection! 100 is more than enough for the CL-61 set 75 is even do able.

phatcat600
07-17-2004, 08:57 PM
Hmmm, why dont I just run them with 75 watts so I dont need anything super expensive, i dont evne know what a 560 crossover is.

djdilliodon
07-17-2004, 09:31 PM
like i said 75 is do able. 560 xovers are an upgrade much better xover