PDA

View Full Version : PS2 install



supraman
07-12-2004, 02:44 PM
having some trouble finding a good forum/thread on PS2 installs in cars. you guys know any?

squeak9798
07-12-2004, 02:51 PM
What do you need help with??

Well, obviously I understand the question you just posed.....but what info about the installation of them are you trying to find?? Something we could answer for you??

supraman
07-12-2004, 02:59 PM
well like how would you hook it up to a battery? and i was told that though they are designed to play DVD's it actually messes up the laser and they lose their ability to smoothly read games...anybody hear anything like that?

skeurton
07-12-2004, 03:33 PM
you can hook up the ps2 directly to the battery, if you take off the ps2s power supply. someone confirm this, i never actually did it.

this is most likely true, but you would probably want some kind of voltage regulator if you do that.

Primo
07-12-2004, 03:43 PM
Just get an AC/DC Converter so you can just plug it in and use the power off the battery.

Jesse98
07-13-2004, 11:41 AM
buy a power inverter, like $30, if mounted under a seat or a dash will never be heard, and you dont risk blowing you PS2 because you are trying to hook a AC meant unit to a DC source.

less clean, check my sounddomain page, i have a power inverter, find where the install isnt clean on it.

Jesse98
07-13-2004, 01:39 PM
go ahead and convince yourself that your power inverter wasnt a waste of money. i dont care.
haveing a power inverter leaves you the option of taking the PS2 out of car and still be able to use it, it adds another protection and fuse just in case, unless the car is parked and everyone is quit and you have the volume all the off with the inverter running and not the PS2 (the fan on the PS2 is louder than the inverter) then you cant hear it, still waiting for you to tell me how its less clean. :wave:

taylor
07-13-2004, 02:26 PM
i agree i had an n-64 in my car off an inverter and it wasn't that noisy....i had to have my volume all the way at zero to hear any oddities...

supraman
07-13-2004, 03:09 PM
i think i'm gonna go with the inverter, i'm not that concerned with some minor sound, i mean, the car itself makes plenty o' sound. plus, i plan on switching it from in-car to in-house. hey jesse98 you have a link to your sounddomain page?

Jesse98
07-14-2004, 11:35 AM
http://www.sounddomain.com/id/7111985
Ill post more pics on it later of my PS2 install and inverter ( I have a few but not enough) to show you were all the stuff is ran.

it was at bottom of sig

supraman
07-14-2004, 02:44 PM
it was at bottom of sig yea i actually discovered right after i asked : 0 oops...

Jesse98
07-15-2004, 11:55 AM
yes, because having two fuses does [i]anything/[i]

you can hear it, period. i had it set up like that before, period.

yes, you can make any install look clean by adding a lot of fiberglass over everything. (oh wait, i thought you said an advantage to the inverter was that you could take out the ps2? i bet the glass makes it even easier.)

yeah, it is very easy for me to take my ps2 in and out, slide out of fiberglass and unplugs, could it be easier, it would be easy if I had the fiberglass or not all the fiberglass hides is the rest of the hole in the dash where the glove box was removed. IF you dont like it its ok, I think that the inverter is the better option, uless you know what you are doing and dont plan on using you ps2 anywhere else, also with an inverter, I can unplug the ps2 and plug in anything else i want, sometimes I put the xbox in my car, it sits in the back seat but still its nice to hace those type of options.

Jesse98
07-15-2004, 02:36 PM
meh, i think permanent xbox is the best option anyhow

peace

started to do the xbox thing but I liked the dash deal and the xbox woulnt go without cutting on the dash so it was a no go (and ex-fiance had xbox at the time of install anyway), ditching both for a console mounted computer.

BIG_SUPERMAN72
07-15-2004, 04:22 PM
My buddy put a 7" flip up screen and a xbox in his truck. Its for sale right actually. Chevy reg cab 1500 its sweet has 20"s on it. Componants and 12" RF sub. use to also have 2 10"S.