PDA

View Full Version : Do ports need to face same way as subs?



Chance89
07-09-2004, 02:18 PM
Do ports have to be facing the same way as the subs?...I'm trying to port my box here but I have a reg cab truck and my box is narrow and long 60 long 17 high 8.5 ave depth. The minimum port I need for my subs is 4.5 dia which makes it 23 long. So I got no choice but to put the port lengthwise(facing cab corners). My box has only a few inches on each side to...:mad: ...
Is this gonna be alright?

somekook
07-09-2004, 02:24 PM
you dont want the ports to be obstructed... just leave plenty space open at both ends of the ports

Moe Lester
07-09-2004, 02:28 PM
Can you put the port on top and use an elbow to bend it inside the box?

Chance89
07-09-2004, 02:31 PM
thats the prob though...I can't have extra space...my box barely fits behind the seat...I'm runnin 1.79ft3 per sub sealed...and wanting to port cause my subs flutter...got to much air space. my ports have to go that way...

Chance89
07-09-2004, 02:31 PM
you can use elbos?

Chance89
07-09-2004, 02:33 PM
I guesse you could eh?...jl audio has that flexport system

Chance89
07-09-2004, 02:40 PM
I kinda sorta wanna know for sure if I can use an elbo...Cause I'm gonna rip to town soon and pick up some pipe so I can do it this weekend. It should work?

aphinney
07-09-2004, 02:46 PM
yea u can...

JimJ
07-09-2004, 10:24 PM
elbow pipe will work, nothing wrong with bending ports...

hell, the port system in my old box for a single '12a was a labyrinthine (sp?) tangle of MDF, hehe...needed to stuff all that port in to drop the tuning to 26 Hz...

JimJ
07-09-2004, 10:26 PM
once i saw a pic of an 8a in a small box, the port was a 3" PVC pipe that came out of the box and had an elbow in it, hehe...the thing looked like a steam engine or something with an exhaust pipe...

Moe Lester
07-09-2004, 11:02 PM
elbows are fine, i used 2 of em in a box for a 12 i built and it sounded great. It had 2 3" ports and both were bent with the elbows.

Chance89
07-11-2004, 07:03 PM
well ****...I went to town to pick up some pipe and nobody had...stupid small town. I"m gonna phone and installation bay in a near town and pick some up there. If anybody here with pioneer impp's has a ported box, Let me know. I'd like to know what ur tuned @. I think I'm goin for 33hz. don't know yet