PDA

View Full Version : Messed up enclosure???

BBB
07-03-2004, 11:00 PM
I paid a good bit of money to have a full install done, but I question the sealed enclosure that they built. I have a pair of 10w6v2's, JL recommeds .625 cu. ft. internal airspace per sub. So, simple enough, I need a box with 1.25 cu. ft. of airspace.

After crunching the numbers, the volume of the box they built comes to 1.53+ cu. ft. The only thing I did not calculate is bracing, but it seems .28 cu. ft. of bracing is unlikely?

The other concern I have is that it seems they drilled a small hole for the speaker wire into the side of the box rather than using a terminal???

Is this a horror show, or does this seem acceptable. I'm pretty new to this, but I think I know the answer. I'm looking for confirmation before I ask them to do it over.

BiaBia
07-03-2004, 11:04 PM
Perfectly Acceptable. If you're **** about sound coming out of the hole you drilled for the wires, stick a bit of glue in there or liquid nails to stop that. Also, depending on the type of material you used on the box, would determine if bracing is needed. Most people use 3/4 MDF, and if you did, no bracing should be required as long as you put enough nails and glue to seal that box up.

Good luck ;)

ss3079
07-03-2004, 11:07 PM
.28ft^3 is highly unlikely for bracing in that small of enclosure. I don't think you could come up with that even if you included driver displacement. You did the math with the interior dimensions of the box, correct?

JL's recommendation is just that, a recommendation. However, JL is pretty dead on with what they recommend. If you like the way they sound in the larger box, then there you go :)