PDA

View Full Version : Help with box for beginner

paulh
07-02-2004, 07:45 AM
Hi, bit of a total novice here, but all the same i've decided to make my own MDF stealth shelf which will have some 6 x 9s on the underside, and cover with acoustic cloth. Making a good job will be the easy bit, I know how to use MDF etc, and I already have all the materials from a company that makes aftermarket stealth shelves, but doesn't do my model of car.

I also want to mount a sub onto to the underside of this shelf, and enclose it. Reason for this is so that the trunk space still has maxmium usage, and when covered with carpet to match the trunk it will be hard to find should someone break in the trunk.

I need help in two areas.

First, maybe an easy one. If I make a box from 3/4" MDF, is there any point adding any sound damping material to this? (I have installed dynamat type stuff throughout the car)?

Second, not so simple I would guess: What about the shape of this box, and how is it going to affect sound?

To clarify my plans: The rear parcel shelf is about 4" x 3", quite a huge thing. It will be re-made from 3/4" MDF and have three holes cut for a pair of 6 x9s, and 12" sub. That will be covered in acoustic cloth so that the holes can't be seen. The 6 x 9s will be mounted underneath, and then a sealed box will be made for the sub which is then mounted also underneath. I have a special shallow sub which means I want to keep the box shallow, so it will be more like a 'tray'. So, it could be 3 x 3 ft, but only 6-9" high.

Is this going to work? Should it be ported? Should I throw wadding in?

Does it matter what shape it is? Is space just space?

How much space should I be aiming for? As much space as possible? (Sub = High power handling capacity of 600 watts, RMS power 200 watts, High sound pressure level of 90 dB (2.83 V/m).

Should I get the box to incorporate the 6 x 9s on either side?