PDA

View Full Version : Port Plug HELP! (calculation)



twinkieC405
06-30-2004, 03:50 PM
Since i cant make up my mind about what i'm going to tune my box to i decided that a port plug might be the best idea for me. i did a search on them and read a bit about them, i understand the concept and the fundamentals but i need to know a few things.

how do you secure them in place? screws? cause if you keep switching them the screw holes will get bigger letting air leak out and i thought that boxes should be almost air tight.

if i'm building a box for my dual 10" type-r's DVC 4ohm (using 3/4 MDF) the box i'm going with is L:18", W:30", H:14" and my port is going to be 12.5" tall and 2" wide what should the port length be for 30Hz and 41Hz?

Any other recommendations would be great for my specific situation.

InhumanAcura
06-30-2004, 05:43 PM
As far as fastening it use these (t-nuts) you can find them at a hardware store, home depot, ect. You simply drill a hole and pound this in to the back of the boxes face. Then fasten it with the correct sixe bolt, machine screw.
http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?&Webpage_ID=3&DID=7&CAT_ID=41&ObjectGroup_ID=259&filter=t-nuts
You can also use screws, clamps, anything that will keep it tight.
The dimensions you listed describe a 3.402^3 box (w/o the displacment of the port and drivers.
If your using the 25sq" (12.5" x 2") of port:
30hz.=16.88"
32hz.=14.21"
35hz.=11.04"
38hz.=8.59"
41hz.=6.65"
43hz.=5.58"
45hz.=4.65"
Hope that helps..

twinkieC405
06-30-2004, 11:46 PM
yeah thanks for the help!

InhumanAcura
07-01-2004, 12:12 AM
No problem man, let me know how it comes out. If you look at my SD page I have the port interchangable. I used screws (use T-Nuts) and everytime I go to a show and swap the ports I have a problem.