PDA

View Full Version : Ported 15" Brahma Suggestions



Mazda626
06-19-2004, 04:33 PM
I just bought a 15" Brahma and i am going to get a ported box for it. I have a Hifonics BX1500D amp that i am going to be running at 1 ohm. What frequency should i tune the ported box to? and would 18" Height 32"Width 20" Depth be to big? I am looking for mostly spl.

supa_c
06-19-2004, 04:37 PM
http://www.adireaudio.com/Files/cut%20sheets/Brahma%20Sales%20Brochure.pdf i can tell you are new, that site is confusing. they have all the box spec's on there

Trixter
06-20-2004, 12:29 PM
I made mine 30"l x 17"d x 16"h (28.5"l x 15.5"d x 14.5"h) and a port that was 2"w x 14.5"h x 21.5"l. This gives me 3cu' tuned to 28Hz. I this is the 4th box I have made for my 15" Brahma and it sounds the best.

BTW: I am using a Cadence A7hc for my amp (1200w-1400w rms)

http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/3016/BrahmaBox.jpg

Nizzel
06-20-2004, 08:56 PM
trixter- you say the box mentioned above sounded best, what were the dimensions for the other three boxes you had made for the 15B?

Trixter
06-22-2004, 09:32 AM
One was 4cu' (net) with a port that was 2.5" x 14.5" and tuned to 30Hz. The other one was 4.5cu' (net) and tuned to 38Hz using two 4" Precision ports. This box sounded pretty good but I could tell it was still too big for the power I was using. I also tried a 5cu' box tuned to 25Hz using 4 4" ports; sounded pretty bad. Kinda funny, after all this trial and error and I end up with the box dimensions that Adire recommends....go figure.