PDA

View Full Version : Aperiodic or Sealed? What material?

jtsai1
06-12-2004, 07:38 PM
For a SQ system...what's best? An aperiodic or sealed enclosure? Or other? I heard that aperiodic (aperiodic membrane) is the best for SQ but I've never heard one and it seems that no one really has one. Anybody?

And what material is best? If wood, what kind?

Sorry for these questions, they seem real dumb, but I'm a construction newb.

Thanks for any help guys

btnhfan
06-12-2004, 07:42 PM
what is aperiodic?

btnhfan
06-12-2004, 11:43 PM
thanks. can someone post of pic of this aperiodic in an actual car setup?

DARKHART
06-13-2004, 02:47 AM
Audionutz has a very informative site on this subject with pictures and how too info. :D :D :D

DBfan187
06-13-2004, 01:34 PM
P4S guys's 6.5s box uses an Areopedic Membrane.

www.powered4sound.com (http://www.powered4sound.com)

DARKHART
06-13-2004, 03:26 PM

Are you sure about that, because "ap" style boxes are terrible at spl applications and are geared more for sq due to the incredible control over the driver. That dual 6.5 box was WAY to huge for an "ap" setup. With an aperiodic the enclosure needs only be large enough for the driver to fit in and give at least 1/2" clearance from the back of the driver to the rear wall, as well as the front of the driver MUST remain in a seperate space or compartment as the back or else you will get cancellation.

DARKHART
06-13-2004, 03:33 PM
Audionutz has a very informative site on this subject with pictures and how too info. :D :D :D
Here's the link to that site........

www.elitecaraudio.com/article.php?sid=18

Good reading,,enjoy.... :D :D :D

DBfan187
06-13-2004, 03:47 PM