PDA

View Full Version : just got new HU not paying attention to the 2v pre outs!!



skippy90210
04-30-2014, 02:35 PM
so I just spent 400 bucks on a pioneer double din touch screen and got everything hooked up and my system would barley play so I was messing with the settings and gains and I had to have my gain AND bass boost ALL the way up and it still wasn't as loud as before I was also using crappy walmart rca's but they cant make that much of a difference, right now I have it hooked up through a low level input converter from my rear speakers so I can have my bass boost down all the way and the gain around 5/8 up its a sundown 1500v3

any ideas on what to do to get my rca's back? but still sound good?

los33
04-30-2014, 03:27 PM
so I just spent 400 bucks on a pioneer double din touch screen and got everything hooked up and my system would barley play so I was messing with the settings and gains and I had to have my gain AND bass boost ALL the way up and it still wasn't as loud as before I was also using crappy walmart rca's but they cant make that much of a difference, right now I have it hooked up through a low level input converter from my rear speakers so I can have my bass boost down all the way and the gain around 5/8 up its a sundown 1500v3

any ideas on what to do to get my rca's back? but still sound good?

Would love to see solutions also (sorry not trying to jump in your question).

I have a older Pioneer Mostfet4x4 HU with 2v preout currently using RCA which is causing such a good sub not bang so well. My amp is 3/4 gain just so i don't have to use bass boost.

skippy90210
04-30-2014, 04:09 PM
Would love to see solutions also (sorry not trying to jump in your question).

I have a older Pioneer Mostfet4x4 HU with 2v preout currently using RCA which is causing such a good sub not bang so well. My amp is 3/4 gain just so i don't have to use bass boost.

Don't Worry About It Man I Just Need A Solution On This lol

garychoffmann
04-30-2014, 05:33 PM
Buy a 1/2 din eq like a clarion eq746s. Or get a line driver

n8skow
04-30-2014, 05:46 PM
2 volts is plenty of power to drive that amp to full output (assuming your head unit can actually output 2 volts)...

How is your crossover(s) setup?
Using any signal processing?
Do you have another pair of RCA's you can test with to determine if it's a connectivity issue?
Are you using a remote gain knob?

BoomTaco64
04-30-2014, 05:53 PM
what is your volume at when tuning vs the max volume of the radio?

skippy90210
04-30-2014, 06:41 PM
2 volts is plenty of power to drive that amp to full output (assuming your head unit can actually output 2 volts)...

How is your crossover(s) setup?
Using any signal processing?
Do you have another pair of RCA's you can test with to determine if it's a connectivity issue?
Are you using a remote gain knob?

i dont really know about crossovers im pretty sure i dont even have any
no signal proccesing
i only tried one pair of the rcas and that was the ones from walmart but they were brand new
bass knob yes but it was all the way up too and still nothing

CrossoverOre
04-30-2014, 06:47 PM
sub output turned on? and yes you do have crossovers in the stereo and on the amp.

n8skow
04-30-2014, 06:52 PM
I think you'd be hard-pressed to find a head unit in the last 5 years that doesn't have some crossover functionality built in, as well as the crossover controls on the amp itself - what is it set to?

The RCA's being brand new doesn't rule them out unfortunately - though rare - there may be a bad connection in the ends or possibly a break in the wires. Do you have something else that works fine you could test them with -or- as mentioned earlier - another pair of RCA's you can test with for the time being?

Also - what happens if you unplug the bass knob (be sure amp is turned off before unplugging).


i dont really know about crossovers im pretty sure i dont even have any
no signal proccesing
i only tried one pair of the rcas and that was the ones from walmart but they were brand new
bass knob yes but it was all the way up too and still nothing

BoomTaco64
04-30-2014, 06:59 PM
the only time his headunit or any headunit will produce the actual voltage output rating will be at max volume output. with his pioneer radio, the volume may go to 62 and he is probably only going to 25 and only getting a fraction of what the radio can do. this is the most common stupid mistake when tuning stereos and amps. not using the entire volume spectrum given is foolish. "I have my gain and bass boost all the way up "= i am not tuning my amp properly and i am only using part of my radio that i paid a premimum for.

los33
04-30-2014, 07:14 PM
the only time his headunit or any headunit will produce the actual voltage output rating will be at max volume output. with his pioneer radio, the volume may go to 62 and he is probably only going to 25 and only getting a fraction of what the radio can do. this is the most common stupid mistake when tuning stereos and amps. not using the entire volume spectrum given is foolish. "I have my gain and bass boost all the way up "= i am not tuning my amp properly and i am only using part of my radio that i paid a premimum for.

In my case HU has its own sub level option which i keep at 0 on 50hz and i tuned the sub stage with a 50hz sine at 0db with the volume at 45/60 (components are hooked to HU and cause distortion after 52 volume).

Either way amp at that level give 1200 watts via dmm 3/4th gain level. Which gives a not perfect volume level compared to other HU

BoomTaco64
04-30-2014, 07:32 PM
your 4ch amp gain is too high if you are distorting at 52. turn all gains down and use a higher volume for tuning. as well turn your sub volume up to almost max. when tuning do not have any eq settings on, no bass boost, no loud. set all to flat then tune gains. use a dmm and get the proper ac voltages you are needing then tune other settings by ear.

skippy90210
04-30-2014, 07:35 PM
I think you'd be hard-pressed to find a head unit in the last 5 years that doesn't have some crossover functionality built in, as well as the crossover controls on the amp itself - what is it set to?

The RCA's being brand new doesn't rule them out unfortunately - though rare - there may be a bad connection in the ends or possibly a break in the wires. Do you have something else that works fine you could test them with -or- as mentioned earlier - another pair of RCA's you can test with for the time being?

Also - what happens if you unplug the bass knob (be sure amp is turned off before unplugging).

i see what you mean by crossovers now and i messed with all the settings on the hu and it wasnt doing much
i am going to get a new quality set of rca's and see
also i never tried unplugging my bass knob

but also remember i had sound and bass but just wasnt what it shoulda been

skippy90210
04-30-2014, 07:44 PM
the only time his headunit or any headunit will produce the actual voltage output rating will be at max volume output. with his pioneer radio, the volume may go to 62 and he is probably only going to 25 and only getting a fraction of what the radio can do. this is the most common stupid mistake when tuning stereos and amps. not using the entire volume spectrum given is foolish. "I have my gain and bass boost all the way up "= i am not tuning my amp properly and i am only using part of my radio that i paid a premimum for.

i know to never have those up all the way and did not leave it set like that im just saying thats how high they were to even do much of anything, but how can i get 2v outs to preform just as well as 4v? does the amp have any factor in this because i have a sundown 1500.dv3 but soon will be buying an aq/soundqubed 2200d

skippy90210
04-30-2014, 07:49 PM
Buy a 1/2 din eq like a clarion eq746s. Or get a line driver

how much do those run? and if i buy that is that somthing that later down the road i will be able to control mids and highs with also? and what is the main job that they serve?

BoomTaco64
04-30-2014, 07:53 PM
the only way to get 2v out on that radio will be with it at max output. same with any radio on the market. the only way to get the max pre-out voltage is at max volume. getting the volume up louder on the radio will help out with your overall volume. the amp had no idea what radio you are using all it sees it a signal input and voltage applied with it.

skippy90210
04-30-2014, 07:58 PM
the only way to get 2v out on that radio will be with it at max output. same with any radio on the market. the only way to get the max pre-out voltage is at max volume. getting the volume up louder on the radio will help out with your overall volume. the amp had no idea what radio you are using all it sees it a signal input and voltage applied with it.

okay that makes more sence to me i just wasnt sure if some amps are more "sensitive" then other amps if that makes any sence haha

BoomTaco64
04-30-2014, 08:05 PM
i have tested over 100 aftermarket radios for clean non clipped outputs and almost everyone will produce an unclipped signal at 98% volume. Example...Kenwood kdc-x395 will produce a 4v output clean at full (35) volume as well as a unclipped signal on the speaker outputs as well. proper tuning of a stereo system is one of the most important things to do. do not use any mp3 files or compressed files as you will not get the best quality sources. i always use store bought cds to tune my systems because that is the cleanest file you can get into a car unless you have a vinyl player. (that would be awesome if you do. i want to see)..haha good luck with your tuning.

los33
04-30-2014, 11:49 PM
your 4ch amp gain is too high if you are distorting at 52. turn all gains down and use a higher volume for tuning. as well turn your sub volume up to almost max. when tuning do not have any eq settings on, no bass boost, no loud. set all to flat then tune gains. use a dmm and get the proper ac voltages you are needing then tune other settings by ear.

Components (door speakers) do not run on an amp they run thru the HU being that they are stock speakers. Also when tuning sub stage i leave all levels flat and place mids/highs to -6 also leaving sub stage crossover at 0 since if i need a little more power i use the crossover level on the HU to add power.

DEH-P4600MP
DEH-P4600MP - | Pioneer Electronics USA (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/CD-Receivers/DEH-P4600MP)

The receiver does 22 Watt - 4 Ohm - 50 - 15000 Hz - THD 5% - 14.4V DC - 4 channel(s) but can max at 44watts 22 continuous.

That amount of rms is no where near distortion for what the stock speakers can handle.. I just think i need to upgrade from this old receiver.


i have tested over 100 aftermarket radios for clean non clipped outputs and almost everyone will produce an unclipped signal at 98% volume. Example...Kenwood kdc-x395 will produce a 4v output clean at full (35) volume as well as a unclipped signal on the speaker outputs as well. proper tuning of a stereo system is one of the most important things to do. do not use any mp3 files or compressed files as you will not get the best quality sources. i always use store bought cds to tune my systems because that is the cleanest file you can get into a car unless you have a vinyl player. (that would be awesome if you do. i want to see)..haha good luck with your tuning.

I actually do own a vinyl player.. it hooks up via rca and aux, but its not expensive any dj store has them for 30$ or more mainly for mixing (chopped and screwed)

d77543020
05-01-2014, 11:45 AM
most pioneers i have tested go to 60 out of 62 without clipping

mlstrass
05-03-2014, 02:52 AM
Need to turn up SLA on pio 2v HU's...will make a HUGE difference

los33
05-03-2014, 03:08 PM
Need to turn up SLA on pio 2v HU's...will make a HUGE difference

Not all Pioneer Decks have SLA Feature.

Either way SLA feature is another GAIN setting which causes distortion if the amp is not configured correctly with SLA upped.

mlstrass
05-04-2014, 02:32 AM
Not all Pioneer Decks have SLA Feature.

Either way SLA feature is another GAIN setting which causes distortion if the amp is not configured correctly with SLA upped.

SLA is the only way he will ever see 2v out of his preouts, assuming his HU has it...

Boomsday
05-04-2014, 02:42 AM
SLA needs to be set first then adjust gains accordingly

n8skow
05-05-2014, 01:47 PM
Don't necessarily 'need' to see 2v of output (though it would be ideal) - amp gain just needs to be set for the appropriate level the headunit is putting out.

CrossFired
05-10-2014, 01:44 AM
Hi Skip, I've got a AudioControl Overdrive(line driver). I'll ship it to you for $65.





okay that makes more sence to me i just wasnt sure if some amps are more "sensitive" then other amps if that makes any sence haha

disturbed471985
05-10-2014, 02:03 AM
Gains and filters are all out of wack.. New Rcas ain't gonna help a bit with ur current issue. Nothing wrong with 2v Pres at all.. In ur case if u had 4-5-8v Pres you still would have the same issues. Might wanna get it set right before u start stinking..

CrossoverOre
05-10-2014, 02:03 PM
eq will be the better choice if you have an amp running the mid range. If you do have an amp running the mid range then try turn that down to balance out the system and see what it sounds like.