PDA

View Full Version : custom box tuning verification?



C1500martin
04-08-2014, 11:00 PM
Hey guys im building a custom box for a Fi Q12 that will be in my single cab gmc c1500. my total enclosure volume after displacement is 2.23801. I want to tune it at 30 Hz. according to the online calculators ive been using i would need rather a slot port of 2x2in with a length of 3.7in, or a round port with a diameter of 3 in and a length of 3.70in. Does this seem correct? does it matter where the ports are located or if i should do 1 or multiple ports? im very confused and new to this whole tuning thing. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

bbeljefe
04-10-2014, 10:52 AM
Do not use a 2"x2" port for that sub. That's only 4inē of port area and the result will be horrible port noise. A 3" round port (7inē) is also too small for that sub. For the tuning you desire you'll need at least 20inē of port area and if it were me I would go with 25-30inē.

C1500martin
04-11-2014, 01:04 AM
Do not use a 2"x2" port for that sub. That's only 4inē of port area and the result will be horrible port noise. A 3" round port (7inē) is also too small for that sub. For the tuning you desire you'll need at least 20inē of port area and if it were me I would go with 25-30inē.

I tried making my ports bigger but cant due to lack of space, would many small ports be the same as one big port?

bbeljefe
04-11-2014, 01:15 AM
I tried making my ports bigger but cant due to lack of space, would many small ports be the same as one big port?

It would be better than not having enough port area but that can introduce a whole new set of problems with the subs.

C1500martin
04-11-2014, 01:20 AM
would you just recommend going with a sealed enclosure although the sub is equipped with low qts