PDA

View Full Version : Ready to give up on my P3's

anger
03-06-2014, 12:01 PM
So, I originally had 4 RF Punch HE's totaling 800w rms at 2ohm in a sealed enclosure sitting on my back seats. Wanting to save some space and kind of 'upgrade', I replaced them with 2 RF P3 dual 4ohm totaling 1200w rms at 1ohm in a 2 ft cubed sealed enclosure that I built myself...I'm no pro, but it's definitely sealed.

Problem is, they sound like ***. Seems they're distorting before I'm even at my head unit's max clean signal. I've checked my wiring several times, moved them to different areas of my truck, gains are set correctly...But I'm not getting anywhere near the output I did with the 4 less powerful subs, according to my ears.

I realize there probably aren't many fans of RF on here, but do you think it was just a bad choice in subwoofers? Or a flawed enclosure? It's my first one, but it's up to recommended specs and airtight. Or am I just expecting too much from 2 drivers rather than 4 less powerful ones?
Should I try a ported enclosure? EBP is around 50...should be okay for ported, correct?

Basically, what would you do in my situation? I'm ready to throw the P3's in the backyard and pee on 'em.

I'm more than happy to provide anymore info, pics, video...whatever's needed to help. Thanks to anybody willing to give some time/input on this.

Oh, Pioneer AVH3200DVD head unit and RF T1000bd-CP mono block if that matters.

Beatin'
03-06-2014, 01:17 PM
are they sealed off from the trunk? and pointing into the cabin?

nevermind I see you put them in a truck. What kind?

globalminds_ent
03-06-2014, 01:20 PM
Sounds like poor box design, sure these shouldn't be ran ported?

anger
03-06-2014, 02:05 PM
are they sealed off from the trunk? and pointing into the cabin?

nevermind I see you put them in a truck. What kind?