PDA

View Full Version : How difficult is it to swap out one aftermarket head unit for another?



ls1pimp
02-26-2014, 10:06 PM
I have a 2003 MDX, and my Eclipse CD4000 just broke, and sadly they don't seem to make Eclipse head units anymore in the U.S. Considering replacing it with a Pioneer DEH3400UB.
I had my Eclipse connected to a 2 channel amp for the speakers (no rear speakers) and a 1 channel for the sub. Does it entail more than just unplugging the wires from the old head unit and into the new one?

Da64u
02-26-2014, 10:09 PM
Most of the colors should be the same. Pretty easy.

ls1pimp
02-26-2014, 10:18 PM
Can you explain this a bit more please? Do you mean on the wiring harness?

Side Show
02-26-2014, 10:22 PM
the colours on the current eclipse headunit with do and be the same as an aftermarket pioneer headunit. (also they still make eclipse headunits fyi) but doubt they will have the same harness plug.

ls1pimp
02-26-2014, 10:26 PM
edit: double post

ls1pimp
02-26-2014, 10:28 PM
edit : triple post?!

ls1pimp
02-26-2014, 10:28 PM
the colours on the current eclipse headunit with do and be the same as an aftermarket pioneer headunit. (also they still make eclipse headunits fyi) but doubt they will have the same harness plug.

I didn't see any on their U.S website, and not seeing much in general on the web for single DIN eclipses? I'd gladly get another eclipse if possible.

Side Show
02-26-2014, 10:34 PM
ECLIPSE Car Navigation and Audio Systems | Fujitsu Ten (http://www.eclipse-web.com/)

ls1pimp
02-26-2014, 10:41 PM
Unless I am missing something, that link just took me back to their main site. But I don't see any options in the U.S site to purchase products?

Side Show
02-26-2014, 10:42 PM
lol, we can get em in Australia. maybe dig deeper

Side Show
02-26-2014, 10:42 PM
lol, we can get em in Australia. maybe dig deeper

ls1pimp
02-26-2014, 10:55 PM
I am jealous man!

However, after seeing the Pioneer I am considering in action, I feel better about the replacement :)


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFNpvHci9kU

If it's not a direct connect, I may have a shop do it.

Side Show
02-26-2014, 10:57 PM
it's very easy todo, specially since you have an aftermarket headunit already in the car.

Slo_Ride
02-26-2014, 10:57 PM
nothing to it you'll need a new wiring harness for the pioneer.

Silverado SS
02-26-2014, 10:58 PM
Not sure where the confusion is, wires will be labeled or color coded swapping head units is pretty dam simple

ls1pimp
02-26-2014, 11:00 PM
How difficult is that to install/replace?

I'm regretting now not learning how to do this stuff myself while I was younger and had more free time!

Side Show
02-26-2014, 11:05 PM
pretty sure the new deck will come with a wiring harness slo_ride

Slo_Ride
03-01-2014, 08:08 PM
nope you'll have to purchase the correct harness.

Da64u
03-01-2014, 08:41 PM
How difficult is that to install/replace?

I'm regretting now not learning how to do this stuff myself while I was younger and had more free time!

Okay I'll spell it out. When you pull out the current one you will see wires coming from the current one that are connected to wires of the same color. Where it connects to the wires coming from the car (that are the same color) cut them and strip the wires. On the new headunit strip those new wires and connect the yellow wire from the new head unit to the one that you cut and stripped.black to black, red to red, orange to orange, green to green, green with black stripe to green to black stripe, and so on.